Posted in Uncategorized

Technological Cult – your life is happening without you

IMG_5938
Life happening at a glance

Okay, so this isn’t necessarily something i would write about on a daily basis, but is weighing heavy on my mind, so  i better just get it out there.We as a society have become way too dependent on our technology. We are so busy trying to find out what others are doing via pinterest, instagram twitter and beloved Facebook ,that we are missing what is right in front of us! OUR LIVES! We will get to the distractions later, but we are also falling victims to OVER SHARING YOU DIRTY LAUNDRY ALL OVER THE INTERNET! I recently looked at a post where a young lady had posted that she was feeling upset. so naturally curiosity sprung, including my own, where people were asking what is the matter.are you okay, and what have yous. This person replied with I don’t put my personal stuff on fb. Well okay then, there ya have it. To say I was disheartened to see that person’s mother post about how people shouldn’t put vague comments on Facebook, that  it  is immature and a cry for attention would be an understatement. Humans are quite intelligent and can at the very least put two and two together, So we now have a mother daughter duo essentially airing the personal fights over the internet for all of the world to see. Of course mothers and daughters fight, of course words will be said, but you can never take the image of theses words away. They are forever in print, and so thanks to the cult of social media, a relationship will forever be changed. They will forgive each other, but will now never forget, and neither will the rest of the world might I add.

The social media cult has taken over our reigns. How often do you check your Facebook? While driving, walking, sitting in meetings, at the movies, while getting your coffee, while sitting at dinner with your family. WE ARE WATCHING OUR LIVES GO BY! i urge you to think about why you use social media, and use it for that purpose. Did it begin as a way of connecting with far away family and friends. I noticed recently that very subconsciously, I would take my own phone to the dinner table with my hubby and kids. It wasn’t even a conscious thought, just part of my routine. Now I don’t know about you, but my kids say some of their funniest things at the dinner table. it usually has to do with  farts and poop, but this is the moment they want to share their stories with me. I will never remember someones status in the years to come, but if I don’t stop looking at it, I will not remember my children’ s laugh,thoughts  and  what their favorite song is if I continue to pay attention to my phone over them. so today, I did it!  The app is  deleted, to never be replaced! No more phones at the table, and no more staring at the phone in front of my children! I am not saying it will be easy, like any cult it will be hard to get out, but I will do it one day at a time. I hope you can too! These little lives that god has entrusted with us are far too precious and I don’t want to miss a thing.

________________________________________________________

Cult –

the object of such devotion.
quasi-religious organization using devious psychological techniques to gain and control adherents
Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

2 thoughts on “Technological Cult – your life is happening without you

  1. Yes, completely agree with you on this one, April. It’s hard to find a silver lining. I don’t think it’s possible to do “just a little bit” of social media. It has a tendency of taking over our lives and reading a post like yours is a good reminder about stepping back and becoming more than an outside viewer in your own life.

    1. Thank you Katia. I have noticed more and more how much my husband and i stare at out phones. so far this week i have been enjoying my kiddos more 🙂

Leave a Reply

