Posted in Baby Daddy

Sweet Siesta!

As I am getting ready for my date night with my baby daddy, I am thinking how easy it used to be for us to just pick up and go to the movies or have dinner whenever we want. of course this is B.C. ( before children).  When i was pregnant with my oldest, Everyone would state ” I will watch her for you anytime. just let me know when it is needed.” Well I am calling it. It’s Bull crap!” what they really mean to say is ” if I am not too busy, or really just not doing anything, because I have a life and you do not anymore, but if you beg and I feel really sorry for you, then I might babysit for you, but I will have to check my calendar.”  I mean  good lord sometimes we have three children. sometimes we  just need a break! They are always better for others than they are for their own parents. we just need time to ourselves to remember why we fell in love . Time without the kids screaming,crying, hitting or telling you what they want every five seconds. Time to just take in the quiet and breath. Yeah sometimes we need time away from our kids.

Finally we are having our first date night in six months. yep, you read that right, last one was in July, my birthday! We get a reprieve most likely because it’s the baby daddy’s birthday. I couldn’t believe we were getting to go out!I asked, and silently prayed that the response would be a  yes, and hallelujah it was yes! So we got dressed and dropped the kids off. We eat dinner at Chilis, its my hubby’s favorite place to eat. We decided that we might go bowling after or to a movie! terrific! We got Margaritas with our dinner, because we ain’t got no kids to go home too! Woo hoo!  This lady begins to stare at me, and I’m thinking oh lord! Did my boobs come out of my shirt or something. I have to look down, because lets face it. If they were out of my shirt, the hubby sure isn’t going to tell me, he’s just going to enjoy the show! nope, the ladies are in place.  Then I  see what she is staring at. Yep that’s right! My margaritas are sexy aren’t they, She was ogling after the margaritas at our table. I just grab my glass and drink my sexy margarita. It was really good too, worth the extra money for the more expensive ones. We enjoy our dinner a little too much and stuff ourselves to the gills. The hubby felt too full for bowling, the movie started to late so we buy one to take home. We go home and watch the movie, drink some red wine. Now the red wine is flowing and two guesses as to what happened next! It felt so good! The best sleep I have ever had! SWEET SIESTA! no bedtime routine with the kiddos that takes two hours, no mommy I need this, and mommy I need that. just watched a movie and go to bed when I wanted to. Went right to sleep and didn’t wake until eight a.m. I certainly do not remember the last time that I slept that late.   If you were thinking i was going to say,  what I think you were thinking, then get your mind out of the gutter people, because I certainly wouldn’t post about that.

Now don’t get me wrong, I love my kids with all of my heart, but I hope to try this year to make date nights a habit. even if we have to do them at home.  The time together was great, I felt like we were a real couple again, instead of sassy, mini me, and Buddy’s parents. All joking aside, it is very easy to lose your identity as a couple, to becoming parents. It’s usually all about the kids and rarely about us. So if I had to make a resolution for this new year I would pick to spend more time with my hubby without the kiddos. One day they will grow up, and go to college or get married and it will be just us again. I don’t want to look at my husband at not remember why we got married, so here is to dating more in 2014! How often do you date your husband? Once a week? Once a month? A couple of times a year? I challenge you to make a conscious effort to get back to the basics and date your husband. I am committed to once a month, dating my husband, and spending more time focused on him, and us as a couple.

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

Leave a Reply

