Posted in mommyhood

According to me… How life changes with three

” What’s it like having three kids?”Since  Having Three children six and under, this is a question that I get asked quite frequently.   While I usually respond with the same ” once you get used to two,  no biggie just keep adding them on.” While I fully believe my response to be true. I thought I would take a minute to explain the difference between one to three kids, and how life has changed.

One Child…

I've got this mommy thing down!
I’ve got this mommy thing down!
  • Dress code – you are super mom! You are perfectly dressed, with accessories, makeup and the nine yards at all times!
  • Dinner – gourmet meal with desert included – you can hold the baby and cook at the same time
  • Date night-  everyone wants to watch the new baby so movie with the hubby it is!
  • Mornings – are easy, you wake up with a smile, sing to the baby, feed, change and then  you all go back to sleep!
  • The right thing to do  – you  have read all the books, know exactly right from wrong, so no sleeping with the baby, no placing the baby to sleep on her tummy and sterilize and boil every bottle, pacifier and toy. If it drops to the ground, well then you have about thirty pacifiers for backup.
  • The diaper bag – prepared for all occasions, with extra outfits, layers of clothing , blankets, books and toys, diaper rash cream, and lotion.  you are prepared for anything.
  • House – the house is perfectly clean, not a thing out-of-place – seriously you could eat off of the floors

Two Children…

Yep, this begins at two chidlren
Yep, this begins at two children
  • Dress code – If it’s clean it works! enough said. The hairdo changes to a shorter look, you know something easier to deal with
  • Dinner – who has time to make dinner, A Turkey Sandwich is semi nutritious.   This is also when your children become addicted to finger food – no muss no fuss
  • Date night  – everyone is suddenly to busy to watch your two kids, so whatever is on DVR will suffice
  • Mornings – Coffee, you need coffee! can’t even process daylight without coffee
  • The right thing to do – in order to sleep, Co sleeping begins! ” just lay in my bed honey, and fall back asleep it’s okay.”
  • The diaper bag – wipes, diapers and extra clothes
  • HouseCluttered, but in a semi tidy way. You can see the floor!

Three Children…

This is you at the end of the day!
This is you at the end of the day!
  • Dress code –  Did I shower today? I sure hope this brown stain is chocolate and not poop!
  • Dinner – hungry? let’s stop at McDonald’s and get some nuggets
  • Date night – A year ago the kids stayed at Grandma’s and we went home and slept? does that count?
  • Mornings – uggh it’s time to wake up again – This clock can’t be right
  • The right thing to do – Five second rule kid. a little dirt  won’t hurt 0 let’s develop your immune system now!
  • The diaper Bag – Did we bring it? Whew, and with  a diaper and a pack of wipes! We have the essentials!
  • The househmm, I think i see some of the floor over there, if you move this stuff  out of the way, yep that’s it, just clear a path!
The new reality of life with three kids! Acceptance is key!
The new reality of life with three kids! Acceptance is key!
Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

Leave a Reply

