Posted in mommyhood

The age on your face… and why Women show it before men!

 

overworked-mom

 

Have you ever noticed in middle age to older couples that the women seem to look older than the man? True to my introvert ways, I find myself people watching and have noticed the same thing. Even  now in my thirties people have always thought that my husband was younger than myself. He is two years older than me, so quite honestly I get a little peeved when people make the comment ” how much younger is your husband than you?”, okay i get  outright pissed!  I mean really, you might as well say I am an old lady, who looks like crap! So… If you have ever wondered why do woman look older than men? Then today is your lucky day,  because I am here to explain it to you!

 

For starters,  in my house  last night for example, The one year old decided all day that he was no way not napping no matter how hard you try! Silly me, for thinking that he might actually sleep last night. Well, The teething monster has kicked in to high gear and you guessed it, my poor  buddy boy decided that at 11:30, he was waking up! Finally after over  an hour I was able to get him back to sleep! YAY! now it’s mommy’s turn. Yep, no such luck. Mini me started crying, and was not having it. We have recently developed a fear of the dark that can only be cured by laying next to mommy in mommy’s bed! Well, now that is settled mommy can sleep! Ha! Six year sassy was awaken by mini me’s outburst so now she wants water! ,ugh! It’s now three a.m. and still no sleep for mommy! So I climb in to bed and fall asleep, only to be awaken every thirty minutes to the gentle and sometimes not so gentle kicks,punches and thrashing around of mini me in her sleep! Finally I look over at my husband who yep, you guessed it, Is sleeping peacefully the entire  time! I mean really, a freight train wouldn’t wake this man up! So now it’s 6a.m. and one year old  buddy is ready to wake up for the day! Everyone else is sound asleep, so up I arise! Now don’t get me wrong, The hubby definitely helps out with the kiddies. But as I evaluate our relationships with our children, I  Begin to realize, Dad’s get to have all of the fun! They don’t have to get the morning sickness, carrying a little human being and then delivering that very big baby in nine months! They get to play with the kids, throw them in the air, give in to their whining “yes, you can have that toy you want” and be the hero!  But let’s face it. the mom’s are the rule makers and disciplinarians. We have to hold our grounds while cleaning, cooking, helping with homework, and making sure all the bills have been paid.  It’s just how it is, and has been for hundreds of years.

So now as sit here and type, with the dark circles under my eyes that no amount of  lotion, potion or makeup will ever  be able to hide.  I ask  without any scientific research to validate , do you really have to ask the  question why woman look older than the men in their life?

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

2 thoughts on “The age on your face… and why Women show it before men!

Leave a Reply

