Posted in mommyhood

Penis,Breasts, and Vaginas, OH MY!

2014-02-05-10-11-30--1145998497

Penis,Penis,Penis! There I said it, now will Someone please help me understand what the fascination our country has with giving alternate names to our body parts, and repeating these to our children. It’s as if the actual anatomically correct names are viewed as vulgar, and inappropriate. Well, I am here to tell you something! our children are calling their unmentionables far more vulgar names. As I reflect to six years ago, when I was nursing sassy, my niece actually looked at me and said “why are you feeding her with your titty?” Umm, excuse me? I explained to her that it was a breast, and the then six-year-old niece look at me as if I had two heads and with eyeballs bugging out of them. I honestly do not think she had ever heard the word breast before.  I have heard everything from what I consider to be lewd and vulgar to people using fruit to describe their body parts. I mean seriously I can’t ever look at or hear the word peach without thinking vagina at this point. The moment I had children I decided that I would teach my children the proper names of their body parts. They should know the proper names. We don’t coin any other names for our elbows and toes, so why should the others be any different. So When Buddy Boy was just a few days old, and Sassy asked me what the bump on him was, I reflected to the quote from Kindergarten Cop, and simply said “It’s a Penis, boys have a penis and girls have a vagina.”  She looked at me quizzically and said “I’m just going to call it a big bump.” Well, there you have it folks, I tried! She can call it a big bump now, but I will not be teaching her to call it a peach, apple, muffin or any other food or more vulgar name. So to her future teachers and classmates, do not get upset if she states the word vagina, because she is simply calling it what she should call it, and I will never punish here for using proper names for these parts of her body, no matter how uncomfortable this makes you feel!

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

3 thoughts on “Penis,Breasts, and Vaginas, OH MY!

  1. I plan to do the same thing with my children! I remember growing up having sex ed in 6th grade and when the teacher said penis and vagina we all snickered. Every. Single. Time. Now thinking back, that was crazy and if we all would have used the proper names from the start then maybe this wouldn’t have been an issue!! I found your blog on manic mondays blog hop and I am enjoying it so far. Thank you for sharing!!

    1. Awesome! Thank ypu for reading and taking the time to comment! I plan to go back and look this evening to read all the great blogs! I love blog hops for this very reason. We get to make more bloggy friends 🙂

Leave a Reply

