Posted in Baby Daddy, mommyhood

The price of Steak, Mickey Mouse and sweet kiddie cuddles

The hubby and I
The hubby and I at a friends wedding

It’s funny how we pick one day to go all out and show that special someone who we love them. The commercials show a couple  holding hands, and  kissing. A picture of jewelry or flowers flashes on the T.V, and somehow this is supposed to show your love. I am seeing the Facebook check ins of people at restaurants, and all I can think is how it must really suck to have to wait two hours to get to eat! while  in a crowded noisy restaurant. Now I am not anti valentines, don’t misunderstand this post. In fact many years ago, My then boyfriend surprised me with a romantic date with a horse-drawn carriage and then a trip to the beach where I was proposed to! Truly one of the most romantic nights ever! But even after the most romantic night ever, I have begun to feel something unexpected. A love bigger than the material things out there. . So tonight with our three children,  my husband and I stayed home, and if you have three kids age six and under, well then you understand why. He had flowers sent to my work, and although it was sweet, it didn’t fill my heart with love. It was a definite haha to my coworkers though. Look what my husband sent me and yours didn’t! But it didn’t make me feel like ” okay, now I know he really loves me because he sent my flowers.  For dinner He made steak on the grill, picked up mashed potatoes from KFC ( yep, that’s right, no muss no fuss) he made canned green beans and baked beans. We sat together at the table had dinner, while watching Mickey Mouse Club house, drinking  a bottle of DR. Pepper and  the kids playing and laughing in the background. After dinner we joined the kiddies, cuddled and watched some more mickey mouse on Disney Junior. Sassy wanted to watch just one more before bed.   It’s not quite the picturesque romance that is painted on the movies,  the hallmark cards, or the commercials. I didn’t have a bed full of roses, or candlelight all through the house.   We didn’t buy each other expensive gifts. we just had time to give each other. A little conversation, a lot of being interrupted with kids needs in between, but at least we had a few minutes to talks and eat.  Even though My husband has now fallen asleep on the recliner, and Sassy is asleep on the couch. My mini me is in my bed with the I pad and Buddy Boy asleep in his crib, at this moment in my messy, toys on the floor, piles of clean laundry that need to be  folded moment, I feel something unexpected! I fell more love on this non traditional valentines day, then I have ever felt on what I consider to be the traditional Valentines’ Day!  This kind of love doesn’t come from the cards or  presents we receive.  It comes from the hugs and   sweet, sloppy, food filled  baby kisses that Buddy gives, The way Sassy always look back at me when I drop her off at school just to make sure I am watching her. The love is in the response I get on Tuesday nights  from mini me when I ask her why she is still  and she replies  “waiting for you!” My Husband shows his love every day by supporting my dreams, taking care of the children while I attend class one night a week, by loving our children the way a father should. So you see, the commercial and movies have it all wrong. They just need to make a movie of my life, and as chaotic and stressful as it is, They will capture the meaning of true love, and it doesn’t come with a price tag or a hallmark card, it comes with pure, honest love. It isn’t perfect and we often disagree but  it has been more than I could have ever hoped for! Happy Valentine’s Day everyone!

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

2 thoughts on “The price of Steak, Mickey Mouse and sweet kiddie cuddles

  1. Sounds like a beautiful, REAL evening of love. Busy parents don’t always have the time or mental bandwidth to enjoy the love that fills an evening together as a family – because we’re thinking about the laundry or the next day’s meeting. i can’t think of a better kind of Valentine than the one you and your spouse gave the kids (and each other) last night – the gift of being there, in the moment, and treasuring the time together! Good job, momma.

Leave a Reply

