Posted in mommyhood

What my one year old taught me without saying a word

Enjoying the moment with my buddy
Enjoying the moment with my buddy

As a busy mom who works full-time and attends school part-time, I have often fallen victim to distraction. I am either thinking about my next assignment or what happened at work today. The thoughts in my mind run its own marathon day in and day out, and can be quite simply put , mentally exhausting. This morning as I am sitting on the couch with my children watching t.v. Thinking that I was spending time with them, my 1 yo son comes over to me, and without saying a word, simply pushes the phone in my hand away, crawls in my lap and lays his head on my shoulder and begins to cuddle with me.

WOW! Talk about eye-opening! at One years old, he will never be able to understand the profound effect that this has had on me. without words, and in those twenty seconds he has taught me much more than I quite possibly may  ever be able to teach him! Wise beyond his years he has taught me to live in the moment, and just be with him. I didn’t have to be doing anything other than cuddling him and loving him. From this simple gesture I have learned that love can be pure and forgiving. Children do not hold grudges, they do not linger on to feelings. They just love with all of their heart and  no strings attached. It’s as if he was telling me ” I forgive you for not being here when I went to bed the other night.” , but be here with me now! When you are here, then I want you to truly be here in this moment!

Recently I had written a post about social media.  In this post I talked about how it has interfered with our day-to-day lives and inhibits our ability to enjoy it. In this moment, my son taught me that I am still a work in progress, that I am not perfect, but I am his mom and he loves me for who I am. He has taught me to never forget that what’s happening in front of me is more in important than a status update. That with all of the distractions in the world, I will never get this moment back. My children will never be this age again. In ten years from now  I will not remember what I was reading on my phone, but I hope  to remember my kids laughs, jokes and funny quotes.  They are the very essence for my being. The reason for everything that I do.

As I look at the image above, It has quickly become one of my favorites. Not because it is a perfect photo of me, nor do I look like I belong on a fashion magazine, but because it is real. It shows a mom, with tired eyes and dark circles, a somewhat messy room behind her, but it is real and  shows the love I have for my son.  We are enjoying the moment together,  Laughing and being silly together. I am amazed at what having children has done for my life, and the fullness that I feel from having them. As parents I urge you not to think about what you will teach your children, how you will grow and raise  them, but how will they teach you! Because in one swift move, my son has taught me everything about life, love and forgiveness. A lesson that I will share with him when he is old enough to understand. I will share with him how at the age of one, he taught his mother so much. He taught me a lesson that I will truly treasure forever, and I will tell him how grateful I am for his one of a kind, unconditional love that has taught me so very much!

DSCN2201DSCN5639 IMG_5267

                                     Looking back at a few of my favorite moments 🙂

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

4 thoughts on “What my one year old taught me without saying a word

    1. Thank you! I have also often thought about this and well, my very smart one year old decided to tell me lol! I’m glad he did, we had a great day together today 🙂

Leave a Reply

