Posted in acceptance

I have the right to DAMN IT!

Damn IT slammed in the staffing room door!
Damn IT slammed in the staffing room door!

To say that work has been stressful would be an understatement. The running joke is the above damn it doll, and where will we find him next. Quite frankly I just want to pin a name to him and beat the shit out of him until the stuffing comes out. But because my peers and patients might think I belong in a padded cell, I  must refrain from such activities, and give the appearance of normal. I then began to think of Dawn at  W.T.F. and her Damn it list!  A little while ago she inspired me with her liberating Damn it list! Seriously You should check it out if you haven’t seen it. This idea can be very empowering of applied correctly! True to my Type A personality, and because  I love lists I decided to make my own and share. So this  is how it works. You add the word damn it to the end of the phrase to make it more impactful and empowering! Like I really mean it Damn IT! So just imagine that the words are at the end and say each phrase proud and out loud!

  • I have the right to use  a public restroom and not find feces,urine, menstrual bleeding, or any other bodily fluid on the toilet!

  • I will take a Vacation day to use for my own sanity whether it be a spa day or a day of rest without being made to feel guilty about it! I deserve it!

  • I reserve the right to discipline my child by any means I see fit without others looking at me like I have done something wrong, or being made to feel like I am a bad mom for spanking when absolutely necessary.

  • I am a working mom, and that means that my house is sometimes messy, I don’t always cook from scratch, and yep sometimes I let my children eat chocolate for breakfast!

  • I will not feel embarrassed about my accomplishments. I have worked hard to get where I am , and in my case it makes me a better mother to my children.  I will not feel guilty for loving my job and my children at the same time!

  • I will stop trying to be everything to everyone, and I will stop spreading myself too thin, as I am human and can only do so much.  I will commit to only what I can handle and be more choosy with my time!

  • I will no longer bare the burden of having to be so strong all of the time! I will learn that it is okay to be vulnerable and show emotion.  I am a person with feelings and it is okay to let them show. Just because I handle emotions differently does not mean that I do not have a heart!

  • I will always be there for my children, and I will teach them that it is okay to disagree, That no matter what I will love them.  My love will never have a contingency it will be freely given!

So there you have it, Damn It! MAN that feels great! I feel strong and empowered already, like I am ready to take on the world! This list will serve as a mantra for anytime I feel down, begin to doubt myself or just need a pick me up! It works much better than me beating my damn it doll and reserving a padded room with some leather restraints. If you feel blue, or need empowering I urge you to make your own list! Thanks Dawn for the inspiration I feel truly empowered, and as promised  here is mine to share.

every-damn-day-just-do-it-20130524515

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

5 thoughts on “I have the right to DAMN IT!

    1. Wow Thank you for your kind words. I often stress myself on the need to have everything perfect, but am slowly but surely letting that go 🙂

  1. I absolutely love your list! Your words about being a Mom and having a career are empowering. And I loved that you’re committing to the occasional mental health day…no matter what you decide to do!

    And thank you so much for the kind words!

    1. Thank you for the inspiration! I must say it felt truly empowering as I put these words in print 🙂 now to just remember to live by them!

Leave a Reply

