Posted in Fictional fun

Shh… I have a secret and I hide it well

Shh… I have a secret and I hide it well. Dashing, charming and quite the ladies man. Well liked by most, and often called   The golden boy . He  is determined, well-connected, and above all  chose me to be his bride,  But I know  something you don’t know. I know his secret and I hide it well.

The beginning was good, until it wasn’t. Shocked and ashamed I couldn’t eat, and had to be hospitalized. They said I was  malnourished, and even  gave me some electrolytes to take home. My potassium was low and had to be replaced.  Over the years I have learned makeup tricks,  and how to place clothing strategically. No one will know his secret, Nor will  they see my battle scars.. It’s my fault. I make him do it. If I just would not push him, then I would be fine.

Shh.. I have a secret and I hide it well. Sitting in my corner office I am powerful and on top of the world.  As I reach in my desk and pull out the flask with  just one sip, to get me through. The sparkle of  her diamonds catch my eye.  I hope she likes it.. Stupid Bitch. She made me do it. Dinner should be on the table at six on the dot and not a minute later. Why couldn’t she do it. I don’t want to hurt her. Now I must apologize and show her how happy we can be if she would just behave. Others respect me, others listen to me.  I take just one more sip  and I am ready to go.

Shh.. I have a secret and I hide it well. He brought home a dress from his week out-of-town. The latest fashions he said. It was truly beautiful, but it did not fit.That is where the argument began. He doesn’t want me to change.  The woman he  married weighed 122lbs. and I am not to change. We argued too long and dinner was late. He really hates it when dinner is late. His temper reached the point of no return.  I can still feel the sting of his hand on my cheek. The bruise on my back from being pushed against the cabinet.  The belly stayed protected. I am good at shielding it from the blows.

Shh... I managed to keep my secret.  I am carrying the spawn of satan and he can never know.  I hid the  nausea so he would not suspect. The weight gain is beginning and  I must act fast.  He will be home soon…..

 Shh...Coming home from work, in a wonderful mood. The meeting went well and it’s the perfect night for  making love with my wife. I came home to  dinner ready at six pm. Followed by the best apple pie.  It’s my mom’s recipe, The woman did good, and deserves her present.  Once I received my nightly cocktail , I gave her the bracelet. She jumped for joy and with  that sinfully lustful look we kissed. We made love all night, and I went to sleep a happy man. I am on top, I am the man and now she knows it! Night night, sleep tight.

Shh.. He came home that night to his favorite shepherds pie. He was happy, a rare sight to my eyes. His meeting went  well. I served up a slice of his moms famous apple pie with the perfect flaky crust, and just barely golden on the outside. Seeing him like this reminded me of the good days. He ate his pie, while I made his nightly cocktail. No need to ask , I know my wifely duties. After taking a sip, he gets this smile on his face,  tells me that it is a little tangy tonight but he likes the change. With a sigh of relief, I offer a big  smile. He shows me my present. Most arguments  are followed with expensive gifts, and forcibly takes my lips. The taste of whiskey on his tongue but I politely obliged. A good wife never turns away her husband.

I am taken  to our room where we begin to make love.  His hot, sweaty body with the taste of sour whiskey. I will never miss the combination.  As I try  to wake him the next morning,  His cold lifeless body is still. Screaming so loud that the neighbors hear. I  begin to call 911.

The coroner said that his heart simply just stopped. He had a heart attack, and it could not be helped.  I cried and mourned as the perfect wife should. accepted condolences, and then asked for a minute alone with my husband. With my back turned to the rest of our family,a thought flashed in my head. When potassium levels are dangerously  high,  the heart can slowly and silently stop. No signs of distress, just a peaceful sleep. So as   I leaned in and rubbed the coffin that holds the corpse of my husband,  with the faintest of whispers and a smile on my face I simply said

Shh…  I have a secret and I will  hide it Well…

 

Writing Prompts

This is a submission for Tipsy Lit, check them out! http://tipsylit.com/

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

12 thoughts on “Shh… I have a secret and I hide it well

    1. Thank you! This is the best compliment I think I can receive. This challenge was fun. Thanks for reading and commenting you just made my morning. 🙂

Leave a Reply

