Posted in mommyhood

Bunny turds and explaining Heaven

wpid-happy_easter_bunny_wallpaper.jpg

Yeah I know! Easter is in a few days and I should be writing some lovely blog post about holidays with my children,  but you know what? I can’t wait for it to be over! My first cringeworthy moment associated   with eastmas was a two months ago when miss independent and I were doing some shopping. She looked at a monster high doll and told me “mommy can we put this on my list for the Easter bunny? WHAT! When did Easter become the next christmas? I mean really what is she thinking? That the damn bunny is making a list and checking it twice!  Are you going to sit on his lap and tell him what you want for Easter? because that’s just weird different.and what happens if you are naughty? Is he going to leave you a clump of bunny turds in your Easter basket? Just saying! So  Every day for the past two months I have been asked ” when is Easter coming?” I didn’t realize the Easter bunny was so famous, goodness I may need to get his autograph!and apparently a loan to pay for all the presents you want.  uggh! Maybe part of this is my fault. We tend to go overboard sometimes but never buy them more than two presents for their Easter basket. We aren’t come of those parents that buy their children a bike for Easter. Yes, I have seen it folks. Maybe if I had done a better job at explaining the meaning of Easter to my kids. Would that help?

But really, how do you explain Easter to little kids. Christmas is easy, it’s baby Jesus’ birthday. This is how my children associate Jesus. as a cute little baby boy who gets presents for his birthday.  So what do I tell them about Easter? umm sorry kid but that baby you love so much became a grown man and then he was put on a cross to die, and had risen from the dead a few days later.  yeah, that crap aint going to fly. Miss Independent has been asking the ever so annoying “but why” questions for a couple of years now. So the other day when  she asked me where heaven was I  honestly didn’t know how to answer.  How do I explain heaven to a six-year-old. So I  told her the only way I could and said it was  past the clouds and the moon.  Then she looked at me and said why? My instincts said RUN AWAY and Get out now!  Due to lack of answer or knowledge of how to answer I just old her that heaven  is where god is, and he wants to be able to look down on us. I mean Seriously  how do I explain to a  little girl that  our body stays here and souls go to heaven.  Science is based on facts, and I can answer that. While I believe in heaven and God, I find it difficult to explain to my children.

I realize that this post has gone in two different directions. but it quite honestly explains how I feel right now. My children are treating EASTER  like Christmas and all they see is that they get presents, and I am having a difficult time finding to words to explain Easter to my children. We don’t attend church regularly or I would let Sunday school handle this question. So I ask you my blogging community. How do you explain Easter to your kids? From parent to patent I truly  need help with this one.  Do your kids understand the resurrection or do they treat the holiday  like a second Christmas too?

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

26 thoughts on “Bunny turds and explaining Heaven

  1. Frist I’d like to say that I love your style of writing – fun and engaging. Next, I have always held Easter as a sacred time so the kids would learn the meaning. They had to come to Friday and Sunday mass and sometimes I made them come on Holy Thursday as well. Now, they don’t always as they are older, but I always kept the fun part separate from the holiness of it. I made the two parts of Easter as two entirely different pieces. Later, I told them about how the Easter egg represents rebirth, and we eat chocolate because a long time ago, people would fast from dairy and meat for all of lent, so chocolate was a treat to reward yourself with.
    I told them that Easter is celebrated because it is the most important day of our faith, where our sins are forgiven, and Jesus rose from the dead so that we can be with God and have our sins forgiven too. I explained that the celebration became commercialized and people forgot that it is about God’s love for us, but that we don’t have to forget.
    Hope that is some help.
    Easter (Yup, that’s really my name!)

    1. Hi Easter! and yes I thought you made that name up lol! This is honestly the most useful advice I have received. Thank you so much for taking the time to comment. I will be using this immediately. We have done a good job explaining Christmas but Easter has just been a challenge. so again thank you and thanks for your kind words. You just made my day:)

  2. i love this, i laughed so hard at the bunny turds comment. and now i must go out and get some chocolate covered raisins, and tell my kids they are bunny turds. i am now following you. if you have time i would love for you to check out my blog mommyx4boys.wordpress.com

  3. Interestingly, we went to a child orientated stations of the cross today at my church. Even though my “mini-ions” are 4 and 2, they still got something out of it; it was pretty intense. We scale REALLY back on Easter, they get some eggs stuffed with goldfish and chocolate covered raisins, no gifts at all. We haven’t had a full on discussion about Easter bunny vs Resurrection, but I did see on Pinterest (and our Sunday school did it last year) that you can do Easter eggs as a Lenten Calendar.

  4. I had the same problem when my 5 year old asked what a soldier was. I told her that a soldier was someone who helped make sure we were all safe. Which worked out fine untill she asked me ‘How?’….

  5. I liked Easter’s explanation a lot. We also struggle sometimes with explaining religious holidays to our children. And we are the family who hides some treats in the yard, maybe buys them an Easter-themed book – not the toys and presents family. What I tell the girls (4,6,and 8) was that Jesus lived among people to teach us how to love God as a father and a friend, that he died so that we go to heaven and be with God the father when we die, and that he rose again on Easter Sunday to show us all that God has power to make everything new again – no matter what. We talk about how we celebrate this in spring because it is a time where we see life coming from death – trees bursting into bloom, new babies being born. We explain that the treats are not really related to the religious side of things, but are a special way for us to celebrate spring, new life, and Jesus love for us.

    1. Katey I love this, thank you! We don’t make a big heal about Easter usually either. They get one toy and then some chocolate in their basket. I usually buy one book to read. We are huge readers too 🙂

  6. You are writing in a very amusing way, I think this is awesome:) And yes some things really are difficult to explain to our kids… I am bad on “good” explanations and it happens a lot that I just through out the fact as it is. My kids are used to it now and I hope that they are not to harmed.
    Like your blog design and layout as well, great work!

  7. Easter is beginning to resemble Christmas in my house too! The kids asked if the Easter bunny makes the eggs in a workshop.. and does he come while they’re asleep. More lies and elaborate stories so as not to disappoint them.. Bless their little cotton socks. Have some chocolate. I find it makes everything better :oD

  8. I have talked to my daughters about Easter and they both seem to understand it. What I say is that Good Friday is when God gave the ultimate sacrifice for our sins- His Son to die on the cross for us. I then go to explain that after he died for our sins (I explain what sin is and how to repent and ask for forgiveness) that he was buried in a tomb and guarded. ON the Third day- they rolled the stone away to find he was not there. Jesus is ALIVE and risen. – I’ve made resurrection cookies to help when Bella was 4 and she LOVED it and understood it then. They also have resurrection eggs you can make that will tell the Easter story. They know the true reason as to why we celebrate Easter- and it just so happens that the Easter Bunny comes to visit as well.
    Here is one for ressurection eggs- http://www.thissimplehome.com/2012/03/homemade-resurrection-eggs-printable.html

    and one for the cookies – http://www.christiancrafters.com/treat_resurrection_cookies.html

    I hope this helps 🙂

    1. Lol no and my kids think of it as a mini christmas lol! We never buy them anything big but with little kids even the little gifts are appreciated so much 🙂

  9. I’ve worked hard on this one over the years too! Isn’t it amazing how greedy our adorable little children can be? I just tell them. On Good Friday, Jesus died on the cross. On Sunday, he rose from the dead, and no ordinary person could do that. They can’t find his body. Jesus was God’s son. He did this so that we could be forgiven of our sins. he took our punishment for us. He loves us so much, so Easter is all about God’s love for us. Bunnies are for fun, and they have nothing to do with the EAster story. The boys get that now, but we still fill baskets. Good luck!! Keep chugging, as they get older they “get it’ more and more.

Leave a Reply

