Posted in mommyhood

Egg hunts, pinwheels and mommy mishaps

For those of you that have children then you will understand the following statement. Most of the time it is too much of a hassle to leave the house. I mean it takes more time to get ready than the amount of time spent at the actual event. Usually The mom isn’t having much fun due to tending to our miniature dictators every needs. Well this  Saturday was no different. I had decided to take the kids to an egg hunt, and the hubby was working so it was up to me to do all the dirty work.Three kids and myself headed to an egg hunt!Boy was I majorly outnumbered here.  After two hours we were ready to go and ahead of schedule! Just as I was bragging to myself about how awesome I was no sooner did I notice something on  Little man’s feet! It was brown and stinky!  Any guess as to what it was? Ding, Ding , Ding it was POOP! Little man  and miss Independent were playing on one of those Giant piano’s like in  the movie BIG so guess what else had poop all over it too! ugh!  I couldn’t help but laugh and shake  my head.  That’s one way to get out of wearing a tie! So I  cleaned him and the piano up and we were really ready to go  this time!

After arriving to the egg hunt, the girls played on the bounce house and all was good! That is until the teething kicked it in to high gear and well little man wasn’t happy! Shoving ice in his mouth every ten seconds to get him some relief while trying to be there for the girls and have fun at the same time!yeah it was good times. thankfully  mother in law and sister-in-law met us at the hunt and I was able to ride the fire truck with the girls. But then we had a mishap. As we turned the corner I noticed children lined up for the egg hunt and realized we were missing it!   I looked at my sister-in-law and said is 6 y/o hunt started? She nodded her head! oops! We waited so long for the fire truck ride we forgot about the hunt. The little kids already had theirs so we had to figure out something and quick as my 6 y/o had not had hers! This is a tantrum waiting to happen.  So we did some crafts and waited around. When she asked when her hunt was I just nodded my head and said soon! All the while I was freaking out inside because I didn’t want her to be disappointed nor did I feel like having another kid have yer another tantrum for the millionth time today. But then I heard the angels sing and hallelujah they started calling for the third grade to fifth grade egg hunt! So we just went right on over there and lined her up with the big kids! Guess what? She never knew the difference. and hunted some eggs! whew! Catastrophe averted.  In nursing we call that a near miss!

Right after the egg hunt 4 y/o had taken a pin wheel that was lining the perimeters of the church out of the ground. I know we vandalized church property sorry.There were a hundred of them I promise and  I think God will forgive us after how the day started. Anyways  It was a very windy day and perfect   for  pin wheels to spin.  OH  the smile on her face as it turned! i was able to capture this image as she laughed, and it’s just pure simple joy! Just melted my heart to see her so happy! So even though we had a diarrhea explosion, teething monster and near catastrophic event, in the end it was worth all the turmoil to see the little ones happy. well two of them at least! ….Just another day in the life…..

 

Pure, simple joy!
Pure, simple joy!

 

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

5 thoughts on “Egg hunts, pinwheels and mommy mishaps

  1. I can totally relate! I took a 2 month old and 2 year old to an egg hunt the Sunday before Easter. Bad weather was anticipated and the eggs were “hidden” (packed in like packing peanuts) in tiny rooms of the historic houses on the property. Only a few parents/kids could get in at once and the eggs were GONE by the time we got in. Luckily my easy-going girl was having a blast just being there and she got an excellent hunt yesterday at my brother’s church!

Leave a Reply

