Posted in mommyhood

I am not ready for first grade

Brooklyn ruth 4 months 072
Seems like this was just yesterday

 

On a recent progress report, my daughters teacher wrote one simple line.  She is so ready for first grade! It’s hard to explain the amount of emotion that this one simple statement created inside of me. Sheer pride and happiness that my daughter is thriving and doing so well, but also sadness in my heart as she continues to grow older and wiser.  On my liebster award question I was asked if I had one wish what would it be. I stated a time machine so I could travel back a fourth but quite honestly if I could use it to freeze time right now I would. She may be ready for first grade but I certainly am not. It seems like she was born yesterday and in a blink of an eye she is turning six. Some of my co workers laughed at me for crying the day that she had Kindergarten orientation. They said I was silly for crying as she starts school. Now They have children of their own, but theirs are older so maybe they can’t remember the feeling of This is the beginning of the end.

This is the beginning of her life that I do not always get to know about. The beginning of me loosing her to friends, after school activities. and well everything else. This is where I begin to lose my influence over her and her friends start theirs. The beginning of worry about whether she is safe and  happy. Is she getting along with her classmates. Is she making the right choices.  For every child that I have known, once they started kindergarten , in the blink of an eye, they were graduating high school.  I always think, Where did the time go? When did they stop being a little kid. At the age of six, Miss Independent has had more insightful moments than I ever have in my 32 years. She is so strong, intelligent and of course independent. I ache to hold on to the little girl that she is right now, but look forward to the young lady she will once be. It’s a mixture of emotions that I never expected out of one simple little statement.

Kindergarten has treated her well, and I could not have picked a better school for her. We have had nothing but the best experience this year.  To her teacher, she may be ready for first grade, but I certainly am not.I realize that it’s coming whether I want it to or not, and If I could say just one thing to you it would be this. Thank you for being so wonderful to her. she has learned so much, and quite honestly in kindergarten I really didn’t expect much. But she is writing sentences, and you have encouraged her artist side. I look at her drawings and am amazed at what she can do. You have been patient and kind so thank you for that. We will miss you in her life, and I hope that her next teacher is as wonderful as you. We are not ready for fist grade, because we are not ready to lose you.

IMG_6215
Six years old!
Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

6 thoughts on “I am not ready for first grade

  1. I struggled last year when my twins started Montessori (the equivalent of kindergarten), but everything worked out fine, infact it did us all good. For nearly four years we were barely separated. It’ll be fine. :o)

  2. Oh girl I get this! I could cry too. Just looking at my little girl, who just turned “a whole hand” old….it makes me crazy. She amazes me and I am starting to see the woman that she will grow in to. Even at 5. It truly does go so fast.

    1. Thanks Dawn. My friends made me feel silly for crying, and sometimes I dont know what I want lol! There are days I cant wait for them to be a little more independant because well, I have three kids age six and under and it’s stressful, but then others I feel sentimental and wish they could stay babies. Its all part of being a mom I guess. So much time that goes by in the blink of an eye.

  3. I know what you mean about wanting to freeze time. But at the same time being so proud of their growing and learning. I can’t believe my babies are turning one, either.

    1. One is such a special age. I have a one year old too and it just amazes me how fast he is Learning 🙂 but also sad too because he’s the last baby and growing too quickly. Thanks for reading and commenting.

Leave a Reply

