Posted in nursing - it's my job

I’ll keep my scrubs please!

 

nurse
What most people think nurses look like

Earlier today i searched worpress for posts with the tag nurse on them.  I was expecting some funny posts about what it means to be a nurse and imagine my surprise when I find posts about naughty nurse etc. etc.  Don’t worry, I didn’t open them because quite frankly I was scared of what I would find. This also brings me to a point of when a I walked into a patient room, and a gentleman said OOH you brought me a red head! My first thoughts were yep, that’s what they did buddy! They served this red-head up on a platter just for you dude. But then I felt saddened that we still have this 1950’s version of what a nurse is today.  If you immediately think sexy nurse when someone tells you they are a nurse let me tell you, we would surely disappoint you if you knew that instead of those body clinging dresses with the ever so ugly hats, we wear scrubs!

Nursing is not glamorous. It is hard work. We have to wear something that we can move in with ease, and store all of our supplies.  syringes, alcohol swabs, pen lights, stethoscope,  You name it and it’s in our pockets.  We have to be able to move quickly as we have the need to run to a code, jump up in said codes bed to perform chest compressions, and if you are short like me, standing will not  do. You must climb in  the bed. The way our scrubs look in the morning, is not the way they look in the evening. A nurse doesn’t care what they look like, as something will certainly get on them. I will never forget the lady that just couldn’t quite make it to the bedside commode and crapped her brains out all over my brand new Nurse mates. $50.00  shoes right in the trash. We have been puked, spit on, pooped on, and urinated on. Oh and the baby powder. It’s our best friend when it comes to plastic bed pans, but then we wear it all day.

no time for makeup, we would wipe it off anyways, and it has only taken me one time to get my long hair in someone’s poop before I started to put it in ponytail for every shift.  So you see, this is a far cry from a nurse wearing some tight dress with her cleavage hanging out while the physician is chasing her around the nurses station. It’s hard work that  is anything from glamorous. But with blood, sweat,tears, poop, urine, vomit and snot, Who the hell cares. We are just lucky that we don’t stink!

poor nurse
What nurses know they look like!
Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

11 thoughts on “I’ll keep my scrubs please!

    1. Bahaha! This is so true! Most people are surprised that mine is not natural ( I have fair skin and freckles) Men are very creepy about it, and I had a doctor tell me she was secretly trying to get the same color as mine. I laughed and told her she could have asked and I would have told her what color. Thanks for reading, I feel a kindred spirit 🙂

  1. I always say in my next life I want to be a nurse. I am way to scared to do it in this life. When I go back to work I will probably go back to making the appointments and checking patients in where I feel safe. After many hospital stays nurses are pretty awesome in my book 🙂

    1. Thank you! I think they are pretty awesome too! Now that I am the manger it’s been awhile since I have been at the bedside. But I went in last Sunday to help my team out since it was terrible and boy did my team put me to work! Let’s just say I appreciate them even more now 🙂

Leave a Reply

