Posted in mommyhood

a glimpse to what my life would be like if I were a stay at home mom

Stay-at-home-mom

When the rest of the states are hanging out and cooking on the grill for memorial day,  I am at home by myself with the kiddos. The hubby is a bread delivery man, so he is out and about all day filling up those stores so you all can have your bread for your  hotdogs and hamburgers.  Anyhoo, It was me and the kiddos all day! Which was enjoyable,exhausting,fun,and did I say exhausting all at the same time!

I made three meals, then cleaned up after said meals. We did nap time, play time,t.v. time, quiet time, not so quiet time all day long! I must admit, I have a whole new appreciation for stay at home moms. I already had the appreciation, but it’s definitely more heightened after today.

We started off with breakfast and quiet time so mommy could clean the kitchen. Watched a little t.v. and around 10:00 it was time for buddy to take a nap. So I  layed him down, and the girls decided to get wild. Running around,being silly. Me yelling to not take water and dump on the recliner! Where did she get that idea from anyway! This kid has lost her mind, and soaked my recliner in the process!

Before I knew it was time for buddy to wake up, and then to make lunch. clean up lunch, and them some outdoor water play! We played and played. The water table at least gave me a few minutes of rest whew! That was until the kiddos thought it would be fun to get me wet too! After water we did ice cream and watermelon. What was I thinking! Sticky,sticky mess on buddy which resulted in a bath for him!

After bath, we had a little quiet time. The kids read books while I finished cleaning the kitchen. After that time I put buddy down for nap#2. Playing outside wore him out. In the meantime it was laundry, and cleaning the bathroom and my bedroom!  Seriously, This is supposed to be a day off for me! What the heck! I don’t even think I have gone to the restroom yet!

Next it was time to prepare dinner and buddy wakens up. So as I am preparing dinner the hubby is home! We have dinner, and all is well. Except the hubby goes and takes a shower while I am still tending to the kids! What the hell I mean I haven’t even had a shower yet! While the hubby is in the shower I smell something Super stinky, and yep! My son has crapped his brains out and all over my leg! Well, at least this forces me to shower now, before I might not have gotten one! I clean up buddy and then I take my shower.

We are settling down for the evening now, and buddy has had yet another diarrhea poop! Uggh! Is the day over yet! almost…Oh and the hubby is fast asleep on the couch, What the hell moment #2! I’m pretty sure my marriage couldn’t take me being a stay at home mom, because here I am ready for a break, and he is asleep on the couch! You have to be kidding me!

If the above has exhausted you like it has me, then remember to appreciate any stay at home moms that you know! Because I tell you what, it is a job! and My house isn’t any cleaner than when I woke up this morning! In fact, ,y bedroom which I so diligently cleaned today is once again a mess thanks to my little hellions darlings.Once I get this crazy bunch to sleep, then the day is still not over. Have to pack lunch boxes, and school backpacks. Set out clothes for in the morning, and have a quick breakfast for the morning ready to go!   Whew, two things are for sure… I need a maid, and a mom’s job is never done!… To stay at home moms everywhere, You do not get enough credit for the tough job that you do day in and day out!

 

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

10 thoughts on “a glimpse to what my life would be like if I were a stay at home mom

    1. Bahaha! I am just thankful that my girls like to read and can sometimes entertain themselves because I don’t know what I had done today without my few minutes and I mean minutes of quiet lol!

  1. This is great. I’ve also used some days off to make a schedule and be intentional with my time as if I were a SAHM. Because if I were, all the days couldn’t be like Saturday with lazy coffee, morning cartoons, and a cobbled together lunch. Well done! I agree the intentionality is exhausting, which means you did it well!

  2. Yep! Well said! I’m a stay at home mummy of twins and it’s more hard work than my office job before!!! I never stop! And it only ends when you sleep (if you get much sleep!).

  3. I liken being a stay-at-home mom to being a 24/7 daycare center, only the kids aren’t leaving anytime soon, HAHA! Being a SAHM day in and day out is emotionally, mentally and physically exhausting, to say the least!

      1. And for the record, I have a HUGE respect for moms who work out of the home!!!! How you hold it all together while managing a job and the home/kids is beyond me!! 🙂 Moms in general are just pretty amazing!

Leave a Reply

