Posted in mommyhood

My very own Wake up call!

distractions

Distractions… They are everywhere. It happens to the best of us. we get in a hurry or feel rushed and get distracted. Our area recently had a four-year old boy drown from falling overboard on his grandfathers boat.Now, I know that your obvious question is “Was he wearing  a life jacket?” And the answer is no.He took it off to get sand out of the jacket and his grandfather handed it back to him to put back on and he then drove the boat, and when he looked back his grandson was no longer there. Due to the rip current and many boats on the water, the search took days.  As I tell you this story please do not get angry, His grandfather loved him, and apparently were inseparable. He is beating himself up enough I am sure. See in what I call hindsight biased.. We know the end result of his actions, and is very easy to be judgemental of the fact that the boy did not have a life jacket on. I would be telling a lie if I didn’t tell you that at first I felt angry about the situation. But a few minutes later I told myself, that I did not know the situation, so I simply cannot judge.

Yesterday morning I had my very own wakeup call with my own distractions! Let me tell you, I can see how easily it can happen. It was the last day of school here, and very emotional for me as my kindergartener is now a first grader! My kids are just growing up way too fast, and can be quite emotional at times. Work has been one hell of a week, so some of my mind was there too. As I was completing my morning routine of getting the bags packed, lunches ready, and breakfast for the kids. We for the first time all year were running late. I know right, the very last day and we are late. to say I felt rushed at the very least.I loaded up the car first, but kept forgetting things and had to make multiple trips. Came in shut the door on the final trip and went to the restroom like I always do. Less than two minutes and I was done. I walked back into the living room to see the door wide open! I made a mistake that I never made!As my heart was racing I look to the couch to see my one year old gone. He was on the couch when I went to the restroom and with my heart racing and stopping at the same time, I ran out side! Holding my breath I see him next to the front door waving and smiling at me. Saying bye-bye!  One year old knows our routine and thought it was time to go! He was quite proud of himself for opening that door, and I made the mistake of forgetting to lock it! Yes he was fine, but as I clung to him and brought him back in the house screaming now, because he thought we were going bye-bye, my mind was swirling with all of the what ifs! My house is the bust stop and What if he had run into the street, What if someone had grabbed him in those two minutes, just What if!

I don’t think that I would have ever forgiven  myself if the what if had happened. In fact I am still beating up on myself! That little boy is one of my three whole worlds and my world just simply would not work without him. We all make mistakes, and get easily distracted. So I must take the advise that I give my very own nurses at work, which is even in our every day lives we must slow down, take a breath and remember we can only do one thing at a time. My mistake could have cost me so much, and I never want to feel that way again!

My sweet boy! My everything!
My sweet boy! My everything!
Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

8 thoughts on “My very own Wake up call!

  1. Those moments we hope will never happen – but some of them always do – they are just so heart-wrenching! I can remember when each of my kids learned to open doors – and all the precautions I suddenly took to keep them safe from that next danger. I also remember the day a friend and I were talking outside and saw a dog run across the street – followed by a toddler neither of us new. Mom had gone to the bathroom, dog scratched at eh door, and toddler – thinking she was helping – used her new found skills to let doggie out…and follow. Luckily, we found mom very quickly, and the child was unhurt. But I can imagine she was beating herself up for days! These kids are always going to be a step or two ahead of us – so we have to try to stay ready for anything. Sounds like you are doing an amazing job.

    1. Thank you Katey! This son of mine is a whole different ball game lol! I have always locked my door, but with both my girls if I left the room for a second, they were always in the same spot. But he always has to “go,go!” as he says it! He is definitely keeping me on my toes that is for sure. At work we have have the state of mind that is a preoccupation with failure, which means that we must always try and figure out where can this go wrong, so we can prevent it if at all possible, and I think that applies to raising our children too. I am glad that that you were there for that little girl, I know her mom must have been pretty stressed out by the situation.

  2. This is a great post, it is so sad about the boy and his grandfather, and every good mother has those moments of oh my gosh what could have happened, so dont beat yourself up about it. As mothers we are gonna make mistakes, what is important is that we learn from them. And spend every free second enjoying the moments we have with our children.

    1. Thank you! And yes it is very sad, read his obituary this morning and it made me cry. I’m trying not to beat myself up but it’s hard lol!

    1. Thanks sweet heart! I think he’s pretty handsome 🙂 I’m over it now, but was just kind of scary for a minute there and I definitely will not make that mistake again!

Leave a Reply

