Posted in mommyhood

My son’s Birth story

IMG_2213

I believe in miracles, they happen every day. I believe they happen in small ways like getting that extra twenty dollars you need to pay the bills, and I think they happen in the big ways like We tell people they have six months to live and then they end up outliving us all. I have three little miracles that bless me every day. The sheer fact that I was chosen to be their mother, is quite simply a miracle. Miracle number one!

The product of coarctation of the aorta, ( saving that story for another post), I was told that I may never be able to have children. That I might simply be sterile and unable, or that it might put my health in jeopardy. I could tell you three different birth stories that are all equally amazing, but for now I will tell you that of my son.
When I found out I was pregnant for the third time, I was amazed, scared,excited, fearful all at the same time. it was one of those, we didn’t plan but we didn’t prevent situations. You know how that goes.  I had two girls and really didn’t care if I had another one, but I think God knew that we needed a little less Diva in our lives. So he graced us with a little boy! My husbands face was priceless! With both sides of our families having mostly girls, I don’t think he wanted to believe that we were having a boy! In fact every ultrasound he would ask ” Is it still a boy” So miracle number one, we were having a boy. My son is still the only boy of six grandkids on my husband’s side. He’s going to have to learn to love pink and dolls I guess.
My pregnancy was much different this time around, boy was I sick! anytime of day it would hit, and oh the cravings for Queso! My poor hubby had to make more runs to Tijuana flats and chilis than I can count! That boy, loved chips and Queso dip! and when he wanted it, he got it! I worked all the way till my delivery date ( by way of scheduled C-section), but had a few moments where I thought I would have to stop. After a work meeting we were going back to the hospital and before I knew it, Bam! I was on the pavement and landed on my belly. Right on the side that my sweet boy was laying. Of course my coworkers were amazing, and We went straight to labor and delivery to get monitored ( perks of working in a hospital, not far to go) Those wonderful coworkers stayed by my side, cleaned up my scrapes and stared diligently at the baby monitor to ensure no signs of baby distress. I naturally had some contractions, but those eventually went away and baby was fine. Miracle number two!
When it was time to have the baby, boy that was an event in itself, and by the end, the biggest miracle of them all. We tried many times to get my spinal block inserted, and it just wasn’t working. something to do with my spine. Now I have had two other c sections, but this one made me feel more anxious. The needle was hurting and I began to cry, All I could think was please god let me be able to see my baby being born, Do not let them put me under. And one of my many wonderful nurses said, Let’s try placing your feet on this stool. So we did and Voila needle was placed and anesthesia in! Woohoo I was ready to rock and roll. Once layed down and draped the doctor entered the room. All was going well from what I could tell, and it comforted me to have so many familiar faces in the operating room. Suddenly the doctor made a shh sound and said what is that! The room went silent and no one was telling me what was going on. The doctor peeked her head so that I could see her and she asked me if I had been having any tummy pain in the pregnancy. I answered no, with a lump in my throat and she continued to work without a word. I kept looking at my husband in hopes he could see something, but he just shook his head. Fear,anxiety, prayers for the unknown kept going through my mind. The kept trying to push my son down and get him out, but had a hard time, and then suddenly for what seemed like forever, I heard that sweet baby cry! tears streaming sown my face all I could say was Thank God! Thank you! Then as soon as the baby was out I heard, clamp it, clamp it before she bleeds. Was I bleeding to death, I don’t really know.
My husband left my side to see our son, and ooh the nausea began, I vomited while the anesthesia nurse gave me some medications and wiped my face for me. I was thanks for him, his job was to take care of me, and he did. Then comes my sweet little boy. Oh how perfect he was, healthy and crying. They laid him on my chest and he instantly stopped crying. A bond unlike any other. He knew, that I was his mother and he was my son. Miracle number three!

Once the doctor finished closing me up, she told me what happened. She said that sometime early in my pregnancy my uterus had ruptured. She believed it to have happened very early on. I asked if it could have happened when I fell but she said she thinks way early on, way before that. She said my son was a miracle, because for most woman whose uterus ruptures the baby and the mom does not make it. The baby can’t grow and the mom usually bleeds to death, which is why she was yelling to clamp me before I bleed. In that moment,just like with my other two children, I knew, that We had just been handed a miracle. So many miracles that I have lost count, and now when I look at my son I think, Wow! I can’t believe we lived through that, and I know that God has a plan, a purpose just for us, and we aren’t finished just yet! Our story will continue!

 

 

This story is in response to Diana’s writing challenge on miracles.. Check her out, her blog is awesome! http://mommyx4boys.wordpress.com/2014/06/22/miracles-challenge/

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

9 thoughts on “My son’s Birth story

  1. What an amazing story! Reminds me of how much of a miracle our children are, whether we are given the details or not. I hope any blogger moms out there who might be dealing with Caesarean guilt will find this, because I really think this helps to embrace what a beautiful thing birth is, regardless of how your baby is delivered. Wonderful post!

Leave a Reply

