Posted in mommyhood

Pardon me while I forget to wear my mom jeans

wpid-screen-shot-2011-09-19-at-10-28-07-pm.png

There is this rather lovely doctor at work that I don’t get to see often but when i do we always share pictures of our kids and she tells me how gorgeous mine are.. Yeah I know I make little Gerber babies. So the other day when she was at work, she surprised me with this funny look on her face. I looked ar her and said are you okay? Her response still has me in disbelief. Very abruptly she told me ” April you are too young to be in midlife crisis!” flabbergasted I managed to utter the word huh? This well-meaning doctor then proceeded to firmly plant her foot in her mouth and told me that my hair was to read and I was wearing makeup, and then asked me if I was pregnant because I was always prettier when I am pregnant! But none of that startled me as mush as her final statement which was ” you don’t look like a mom anymore” I’m sorry but I didn’t realize that a mom had to look a certain way. So Pardon me while I forget to wear my mom Jeans today.

Since when did moms have to look a certain way? I mean the last time I checked this was the year 2014 and no two moms look the same. I’m not saying that I am a fashionista but I like to look decent in public.  At home it’s all yoga pants and tank top but outside of home it’s usually skinny jeans a nice shirt and ballet flats, so no it’s not an outfit from a runway but it’s a far cry from the ever so  trendy mom jeans either. My style is comfortable but cute! Just like me!

As far as makeup goes, well next to the fine lines that keep coming on my face, and the horrible bags under my eyes that nothing g will cure, I also have rosacea!  It is tiny red bumps that usually appear on my chin and so the makeup helps hides them. I don’t get this until I was 30 ( you know two years ago)  and as hard as i try to not let it bother me,  I have been very self-conscious of them. So I wear the makeup to keep from looking like the wicked with of the west because that’s how I feel when I don’t wear my makeup. SO SUE ME FOR wanting to feel pretty!

Okay so that was a little bit of a rant, sorry about that. My point is that even though I love my children, every aspect of myself should not be defined by them. I shouldn’t have to say to myself oh well I am a mom now so let me stop wearing makeup. Our kids are with us every second of every day, either in our heart or our thoughts, but when I am working I am the boss, the colleague,  the go to person. What I am not at work is a mom, so pardon me if I forget my mom jeans today!  And I wear scrubs by the way! I am certainly not your mother so I hope you forgive me this time and remember I am just a woman doing her job.

Are we going to go back to the days that woman have to stay home and be strapped to a baby with bare feet and cleaning the house. No, because we would all go crazy if we didn’t partake in the occasional Girls night out and relax with our friends. We have to have some mental downtime to regroup and be better parents to our kids. The same goes for how we dress. That doesn’t mean that we are all striving to look like Kim Kardashian  everyday, but just sometimes we as woman have the need to feel and look good. Even with a pile of spit up,and what we can only hope is chocolate on our sleeve. So let’s take a stance! No more mom Jeans! Are you with me?  So in planning this post I was thinking of some sort of link-up! Show me your best outfit or what you choose to show and let’s have some fun! I will post a pic of myself and you do the same pingback to this post and we can show the world just what a mom looks like! and don’t worry, mom jeans are welcome if you actually wear them! This is all in good fun. If you choose to take in the challenge a written post is welcome, describe your beauty routine or your outfit, whatever you like and I will share on twitter,reblog etc. My own selfies(oh boy can’t believe I am gonna do it ) to follow!

wpid-momjeans3.jpg

 

 

 

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

7 thoughts on “Pardon me while I forget to wear my mom jeans

  1. Wish I could participate, but I feel like motherhood HAS done a number on my feeling stylish. It’ll come back, I’m sure, but for today I’m wearing shorts and a black nursing tank top. But also it’s pushing 90 degrees outside with humidity, and It’d be hard to look that nice in this heat anyway.

    1. Oh yes I know what you mean! I live in Florida and it has been mid 90s for the past 7 days with index in 100s! I’m fixing to suck it up and trade in my skinny jeans for some shorts too although I hate the way I look in shorts. I always dress cuter in winter 🙂

Leave a Reply

