Posted in mommyhood

Sparklers,hot days and Ice cold Lemonade

As most of you know, The United States celebrated it’s independence day yesterday! I wasn’t planning on posting anything from yesterday but felt a great story to document for my kids to read one day.  As we waited on our bread man to get home from delivering all the hamburger and hot do buns to the stores that were completely cleaned out, the girls wanted me to paint their toes.  Those silly cuties wanted blue and red toes for America Day as they put it! And no, I did not paint mine blue and red in case you were wondering. Not that there is anything wrong with it, just not my thing.

Shortly after that, the hubby was home so we got ready to go. My children are afraid of fireworks so we take them to the festivities downtown and let them play on the bounce houses, look around at the various tents from the artists who make jewelery, candles , homemade baked goods. You name it and its there. So needless to say it was a hot day, but it actually wasn’t to bed. There was a little breeze to the air so even in mid ninety degree weather it wasn’t awful.

Hot day!
Hot day!

there was this bungee trampoline that my oldest wanted to do, so after walking around for a bit my hubby and the girls stood in line! When I say this line was awful, this line was awful! So I politely told my hubby, have fun with that and me and the little buddy went and got some funnel cake! Wahoo, I have been craving funnel cake ever since a great friend posted about her funnel cake at the carnival.  Well, we sat there a long time me and my little man just eating our cake, and Looking at my husband and two girls not moving very far in line.

Yay for funnel cake!
Yay for funnel cake!

Being the wonderful wife that I am, I thought I would get my husband some lemonade and a bottle water for the girls and take it to them. Well, my son decided that he wanted a drink of that lemonade, and sorry hunny, but he wasn’t getting it back! My sweet little one year old drank the entire thing! Apparently he likes lemonade who knew!

First Lemonade
First Lemonade

Now to the great part or not so great depending on how you look at it is that we waited in line for two hours! Yep and we get to the top, have the harnesses on and those people tell us that it’s time to close up! Excuse me, my six-year-old and four-year old waited for two hours and they don’t get to jump! You have got to be kidding me! I’m choosing to look at this in a positive light, because both of my girls waited so patiently with perseverance and strength. When their mommy wanted to yell and go off on these people, My sweet six year old just said “Mommy they are closed.” Just so matter of fact without a care in the world. I looked at her with such admiration. This little girl just taught me more than she will ever know. She taught me strength, perseverance, and she taught me that sometimes it is what it is and we should just move on!

What! We don't get to jump!
What! We don’t get to jump!

So that we did! Walking around some more, putting our feet in the water fountain in the park and eventually getting some dinner. Once we got home we thought we would try some sparklers with the girls, but that was a no go. They weren’t having that either lol! So we went inside and cuddled on the couch and watched a little t.v. and then thanks to the neighbors very loud fireworks I had a little girl in the bed with me, and one fell asleep on the couch.

All in all it was a great day! The simple innocence of kids continues to amaze me. Even though they couldn’t bounce on the trampoline, it didn’t ruin their day! They still had a great day, we still had laughter and fun, and it was because we were together! it wasn’t because of what we were doing, a point that I have to remind myself sometimes. That it’s just about being together and making memories.

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

2 thoughts on “Sparklers,hot days and Ice cold Lemonade

  1. Well I am very glad you finally got some funnel cake, but now I want more and dont have any. What sweet little girls you have, I know my 4 year old and my 10 year old would have pouted like crazy, and your little boy is just adorable.

    1. Thank you! The girls actually surprised me with this one because normally my oldest whines about everything! But maybe she’s maturing a little only time will tell!

Leave a Reply

