Posted in mommyhood

I Blame it on the new Mommy Brain

Funny-dont-worry-mom

In keeping with the mommy confessionals, which was so much fun by the way! I thought I would add another little confessional which will probably cause you guys to laugh at my expense but hey, I’m laughing at myself at this point.

New mommies have what I like to call the new mommy brain, creative, I know, essentially from the  never-ending cycle of eating, sleeping and breathing our newly born babies our brains turn to mush. We can’t think or even have any semblance of rational thinking in that point of our lives.

There is a genuine fear among us for our newly borns. Fear that something is going to go wrong, that they might stop breathing in the middle of the night. At the first sign of a sneeze we take them to the doctor worried it’s a sign of something bad.  Even though sometimes, a sneeze is just a sneeze. We sit by the cradle and watch the rise and fall of their chests because like I said, they just might stop breathing. The hormones turning us into slightly crazed mental patients. The sleep deprivation makes it worse, and no matter what only we can take care of the baby properly. So do not even ask to take that sweet little bundle of joy off our hands, because we will not let you.

In reflecting on this irrational behavior, I have a confession to make. One afternoon I began attempting to clip my first born daughter’s  fingernails. Which seemed like  a simple task at the time, but true to her stubborn self she would not be still. She wiggled and pulled her hand away. Needless to say, she was not having it. But  true to my stubborn ways she was getting it done! So I straddled this poor baby held her hand and clipped away! Well, as she pulled away from me and I seen the drip of red coming from her hand, I began crying hysterically! I had cut my child. and she was going to bleed to death!

All rational thinking went out the door, and I panicked.  holding pressure didn’t seem to help, and no band-aid would go on the finger because of the amount of blood! I called my husband completely hysterical and poor guy didn’t no what to think! Here was his practical, logical, wife who happens to be a nurse, and she was freaking out over a little cut! Yep you read that right! I am a nurse and I was completely panicked! As my hear rate increased and my thoughts got away with my I called 911. Oh yes, I did! Called the ambulance and told them my baby was bleeding!  Vision of her bleeding to death in the car on the emergency room played over in my head, so 911 was the right move. Or at least to me it was at the time.

Now, the poor paramedics came rushing into my house, seen the cut and began laughing. They actually were really sweet about it and eve so efficiently placed a band-aid on my little girl and stopped the bleeding.The gentleman told me stories about when he had his children, and then the lady told me about her son climbing on a dresser. I was thankful that they were so sweet, and then I told them that I felt silly since I was a nurse. Oh boy you couldn’t  contain the laughter! Myself included. The nice gentleman looked at me and said it’s  okay, You have new mommy brain and it will get better!

I’m happy to report brain function is now fully intact, and unfortunately or fortunately depending on how you look at it, You have to be near death experience for this mom to take you to the emergency room! Or bleeding heavily. So, How about that for a confession! I’m anxiously awaiting your stories. Share with me your most irrational new mommy moments, you are in good company!

 

Photo credit to Imfunny.net

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

17 thoughts on “I Blame it on the new Mommy Brain

  1. Lol, I never went quite that far. Im not sure if you have read any of the posts I wrote about my mother and the kind of person she is, but I did not allow her to be in the hospital with me when my son was born, so a few weeks later she came to my house to see him I had just turned 18 and had my first baby, and the first time she saw him I was convinced she was gonna try to hurt him in some way to get back at me. So when she left I went and took everything off his bassinet to wash it, I just new she rubbed rat poison on it or something like that. But even after I washed it I was scared, so my baby slept with me for 3 or 4 day until everything including the whole bassinet came back from the cleaners.

    1. No, I haven’t read them! Now that you have brought my attention to it, I must read them tonight! That must have been a horrible feeling to feel like your mother would hurt your baby!

  2. I cut both of my kids’ fingers when clipping their nails. 😦 By the time I had my second child, I just waited for the blood. 😦 My most irrational moment came at the 2:00 a.m. feeding of my newborn second child. I believed he was bleeding internally as I found “pink” in his spit up. I proceeded to awaken my husband and he selected one of the books from our baby library. The blood was an unfortunate occurrence related to nursing. I felt like such a fool the next morning!

  3. I’m literally laughing outloud over here 🙂 Glad the paramedics were kind! I cut my son’s finger trying to get his nails when he was about 2 months old… There was a lot of blood for a littler finger!

  4. Oh dear! But we have all been there believe me! I have twins and I am always popping down to the minor injuries unit with my twins! You are nothing but a caring and compassionate Mother! Fab! x x

  5. I brought my baby to the Dr as I thought he was making funny faces and looked like he was choking after he ate. There was absolutely nothing wrong with him. He was just threatening to spew and not following through. Looking back my Dr was great and politely took my concerns on board, then put my mind at ease telling me that he was absolutely fine..
    After my daughter was born, I was worried about her nostrils being too small to let the air in! Haven’t told many people about that one! :o)

Leave a Reply

