Posted in acceptance

Celebrating the Journey

My mom holding me at three months old!
My mom holding me at three months old!

Happy Birthday to me! I just turned thirty-three! Okay, so that was cheesy, but hey I like cheesy sometimes. I have been wondering if I would do a birthday post, and what would I say. Would I do a bucket list, a memory from my childhood, but then Cate at the Clear parent nominated me for the very inspiring Blogger award , and since I have already been nominated by two people, I will just say Thank you Cate for being awesome, checking out my blog and considering inspirational! If you haven’t checked her out go here. http://theclearparent.com/ In attempts to keep up with the inspirational theme, you will read my very own birth story, as I know it of course. I hope you like it!

The journey of my birth as told to me by my mother and grandmother, as well as the hard times that have followed.  As I listen to this story, it reminds me of the great strength that my mother has had. It’s not easy to be nineteen, single and pregnant.

Mom had decided to go swimming with her family, my aunts and their husbands I believe, and after their endeavor she began to feel wet. Thinking nothing of it, she changed clothes but it kept coming. It wasn’t until she had mentioned this to her sister, that she realized what was happening. No this could not be happening, she thought! Not at two months early. But sure enough Her water had broken and she was having a baby!

Born at 4lbs and 4 oz a little newborn me had to spend some time in the neonatal intensive care. I have heard the story many times, but can still hear the pain in her voice as she tells me that leaving the hospital without her baby was the hardest thing she has ever had to do. I guess you could say we were luck, She only had to visit me in the nicu for one month before I was released. Which is not bad considering it could have been a month longer according to my due date.

It was two weeks later as my grandmother was watching me, that she realized that something was wrong. I would love to tell you that it was something subtle that she had picked up on, but sadly I had turned blue. She looked at her little grandchild’s face and it was blue and she was gasping for air. My nanny as I called her, couldn’t reach my mother who was already at the hospital for a checkup so she loaded me in the car and hauled ass to the hospital. I was checked in at the E.R and they found my mom.

Many tests were performed and hen the physician told her it could be one of three things, none of them good and all requiring more testing. Exhausted and tired she listened to the three potential diagnosis. It was either Leukemia, meningitis or heart disease. So test number one commenced and a spinal tap was needed. I honestly don’t know how she had the strength to watch this happen to her child, I admire her because I am just not sure I would have been strong enough to go through this.

The spinal tap was negative and it was decided to proceed with the heart testing and ding,ding,ding We have a winner. It’s called coarctation of the aorta in which a piece of the aorta is narrowed and must be opened or the chance of survival is minimal. We were taken to a larger hospital in which the procedure was done.at 6 weeks old I had open heart surgery. The scar on my back a constant reminder of my survival.

They told her that I would have to have surgery again, that the coarctation would come back, it hasn’t. They told her I may never have children due to possible sterility, I have three. They told her I would have dwarfism, I am short but not that short. The road taken has not been easy. I remember many hospital visits, and pushing around of I.v. poles when I was finally allowed to play with the other kids at the hospital.  I remember not being able to run like the other kids at P. E. But most of all I remember that I above all am here, and it must be according to someone’s plan. I am here for a reason just like every one of you.

The Journey we take leads us to our destination. We do not always understand where the destination will take us, but just like the title of one of my favorite songs.. God Bless The Broken Road that Lead Me Straight To You!

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

30 thoughts on “Celebrating the Journey

      1. Lol, well now I have to tell you that my day just started looking up! The hubby called and said that I have an appointment at the spa for a full package and I check in at 12! Lol so I guess he will have to deal with cranky pants toddler while I relax 😉

  1. Wow, you are even more special than i realized, you have a great and very inspirational story.
    Oh and Happy birthday to you, Happy birthday to you, Happy birthday dear April Happy birthday to you. I have a terrible singing voice dont i. Lol 😉

  2. What an inspiring story. My cousin’s little boy was born 3 days before my twins, and he has had several heart surgeries by now. We worry so much about him, but your story has been very reassuring. Thanks for sharing it and Happy birthday! 🙂

  3. Happy Birthday to you! My birthday is next week 🙂 What a story! I am so glad you did not need any more surgeries. You must have one strong Momma! Blackberry #2 was born at 30 weeks nd he spent 51 days in the NICU, so your Mom is right, it is really hard to leave the hospital without your baby. Blackberry #2 also has heart issues 😦 We will have a cardiologist appointment at the end of the month 😦

    1. Thank you! She is a strong woman and I don’t know how she ever went through it! I get seen once a year to re check the ticker and all is well for now! Bless tour little one, I can’t imagine what you have to go through either! I will say a prayer that his appointment goes well and that you get good news 🙂

      1. Thank you very much 🙂 So far we have been lucky, no surgery yet. I just wish and hope that by some miracle it will stay this way.
        What is the birthday of your youngest one? Blackberry #2 was born on november 25th 2012.

Leave a Reply

