Posted in nursing - it's my job

A funeral and five Crazy Ladies

I work with some amazing people. Every day we support,cover and encourage one another! From the moment I took my nurse manager position it has never ceased to amaze me the comrades that we have for each other!  Complete opposites and yet we get along so well!
Today was a fine example of this as we went to a coworker’s father’s funeral. We didn’t go because we knew her dad, but to support our colleague in her time of need. Picture in the car four woman from ages 20’s,30’s 40’s and 50’s in the same car and trying to get on time. Yeah well, that didn’t happen.  True to form we arrived there late, sat in the back and hugged our colleague after the service. She had tears in her eyes when she seen us, and a service dog was there nuzzling my leg! yeah don’t know. after the funeral we decided it was time for lunch and the conversation went something like this!

 

I need to go back to work drop me off at the hospital
Well, I just need to run in and get my purse, and i will grab Amber on the way..
text- get your shit we are having lunch off campus
was that text meant for me?
Yes, let’s go
ok
Where do you want to eat
Don’t care let’s Go
Ooh how about Tin Cow
Tin cow sucks it takes too long
Where is Rebecca did she get lost-still waiting in the hospital parking lot
Text-Did you get lost or what?
Tin cow will not take long, My friend works there I will just tell her to hurry that shit up
No I did not get lost, I had to show someone where to go
No tin cow, pick somewhere else
What about five sisters
Can’t go there they are too stingy with their rolls
You can’t punish a place for one time of bad service
Then why don’t we go to Tin Cow
No tin Cow! How about five sisters?
Five sisters it is!
How do I get there?
It’s just down the road
Where
Go Left
I think it’s right
No not this way you were supposed to go left
turn around
I can turn this way
Here is the damn GPS I can’t go anywhere without it
Oh it’s this way let me turn around
no shit Sherlock
Five sisters is going to take too long
No it’s not
Look the parking lot is empty
I’m hungry-driver pulls in too fast!
Get out of the car
What the crap they are closed on Mondays
i’m so hungry
Let’s keep driving
Tin cow!
No that will take too long!
How about the fish house
And you don’t think that will take too long, The Tin cow will be better
everything is going to take too long at this point
I’m hungry turning corner way too fast!
she’s trying to kill us, put on your seat belt
I’m hungry
Just park and don’t worry about finding a damn tree to park by
 ooh here is a spot
no there, it’s closer
get that spot or i will  get out of the car and stand in it
can you parallel park
what about that irish place
its a bar
no they have irish food
It’s a BAR! – here the irish music playing
oh
hmm, leisure club
tin cow
no
leisure club it is
these heels are killing me
I’m hungry
and we made it!
Thank you jesus it’s time to eat!
I love these ladies.  we don’t always get along, and all different ages we see the world differently, but for one thing is sure. We have each other’s backs and always have a good time! They make work fun and I am greatful to have them in my life!

 

 

 

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

Leave a Reply

