Posted in mommyhood, Uncategorized

My arch Nemesis:The Head Lice

wpid-doctor-mother-head-lice-goes-on-ecards-someecards.png

 

I have been off wordpress for the last few days. Haven’t even been able to read many blog posts. Well, why april you ask. Oh I am about to tell you! It has to do with those creepy crawly head bugs that are now my arch nemesis!

I received a call thursday that my oldest had head lice and truly I was appalled! We have never come across this issue in our parenting adventures to date but here we our, now dealing with it! I immediately left work and paid way too much money on over the counter medication, the spray to kill on furniture etc. and went to work on my poor kiddos hair!If you have seen her pictures then you know that she has long thick hair and is a pain to comb! So as I am combing through her hair I see one and it’s still alive! Mother Fudger this is supposed to be dead! Two hour later and I am still combing and it’s awful!

Next it was time to do the four-year old because oh yeah she has them too! I would like to meet anyone who has successfully treated and combed out a four-year old! This child kicked and screamed the entire time that I combed through her hair until the point of frustration on my part and said to hell with it!

Next everything was placed in bags and or thrown out! So needless to say it was a late night and I was exhausted! the very next morning I could still see 6yo itching away, so I looked in her head and but of course she still has some crawling around in their little mansion that they have created in my poor daughters head! annoyed would be an understatement. So I decided to call in to work and deal with this head on, no pun intended, My boss told me about listerine and said that it has worded for a friend of hers who has been dealing with it all summer, so why not!

I listerined that child’s head like there was no tomorrow, then cleaned up the house. Gleefully happy when I combed through her hair and the bugs were actually dead like they should be! We combed and then I took the 6yo school clothes shopping as part of her bribe for sitting still. Hey, it’s the best we could do under the circumstances.

Then for the next two days we were good. That is until we weren’t anymore! Itching again today I went and got some more Listerine! doused the girls and my hair. 5yo did okay but 4 you holy crapola that child would not cooperate! I eventually spanked the poor child but that even didn’t work! So here I am drinking my red wine, hating those creepy crawly bugs! They are now and will forever be my arched nemesis! I surely hope this takes because combing through these girls hair is not going to work! O realize there are worse things in the world but this is just stressing me out! Any suggestions for a stressed out moma on how to get rid of head lice effectively?

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

7 thoughts on “My arch Nemesis:The Head Lice

  1. Ugh, so sorry you are dealing with this! The only thing I have heard is just the fine combing, over and over and over.

    Not that it helps now, but if you get the “heads up” (ha ha) on an outbreak at school or day care again in the future, send the girls to school with a bunch of gel in their hair and ponytailed up. Lice cannot attach to “dirty” hair.

    I hope this resolves soon, good luck!

  2. The horrors of head lice, I remember them well. I made a mixture of olive oil, tea tree oil and a couple of drops of lavender. I coated their hair with the mixture and covered it with a towel, we left it for about a half an hour and them thoroughly washed and fine combed for at least another half hour. We blew it dry on the hottest setting they could handle and I was pleasantly surprised to find it worked wonders. We added a few drops of the tea tree to their shampoo after that. My daughter at that age was blow drying after every wash and using hair spray, she seemed to have the least problems with it. The oil apparently suffocates the little bugger already thriving, the fine combing removes the eggs. Ugh, such a gross dilemma to deal with.

    1. Oh I might try that! We have some prescription stuff that I haven’t filled yet, I just hate the thought of putting more chemicals on their head if it isn’t going to work!

      1. The prescription didn’t do diddly for us except stink! There are quite a few sites about home remedies, actually, I’ve written articles for a few . . . I’ll see if I can find the links, it’s been a few years!

Leave a Reply

