Posted in mommyhood

Growing Two Hearts

IMG_8970
Funniest, sweetest kid I know!

Five years ago (on 9-9-09) I gave birth to a beautiful baby girl! I remember the anxiety,happiness,worry,genuine relief as if it were yesterday!  She was the second of our little girls and little did I know how much we needed her in our lives.

I found out I was pregnant when the oldest had barely turned one years old, we found out we were expecting another baby! Being new parents still the fear set in. I laugh at myself now, but we loved our oldest daughter so much I didn’t understand how I could love another child with the same amount of love! This fear genuinely plagued my mind. I remember my mother in law who is quite intuitive telling us, I know what you are afraid of and trust me, you will love the next child just as much!

Her words sat through me because until I seen that beautiful little girl with my own eyes, I did not understand that statement!  I honestly kept that uneasy feeling until the first kick! That kick is when I began to fall in love with her! I knew I loved her but after birth did I realize just how much!

The day she was born we had a scheduled c-section and I knew this little girl inside and out already. She was more laid back in my tummy, she didn’t do cartwheels or kick till I couldn’t stand it, She was just right. A comfortable pregnancy with a baby who would be ready for the world on her own time.

The Cesarian went wonderful and the moment I heard that sweet little cry, nothing too loud or over the top, just a little to let us know that she was healthy and alive. That moment is when I understood! I didn’t have enough room in my heart for her because I simultaneously grew a second heart for her the moment she was born! Two hears were where there was one and each child has their own place filling up the hearts in its entirety!

DSCN1044
One time Paci for this Baby!

She looked just like her mommy which is good because the oldest looks like her daddy and hey, I need at least on child to look like me! She remained an easy baby and I remember thinking wow! I got so lucky this time. She never took the paci with exception of one day in the hospital and at five months began to suck her thumb! The moment she did this i instinctively tried to give her the paci. The way I felt about it is I can always take away the pacifier but the thumb is here to stay. She still sucks her thumb but we are trying to work with her to stop.

This year 5yo started preschool and it has amazed me how well she is writing. Shy but in her own way outgoing I am loving this little girl she is shaping up to be.  As a baby she was very nurturing always playing mommy to her dolls, and in a way she is still nurturing to her brother and sister even though sister is the older one. She loves Littlest pet shops and Lallaloopsy toys.

Her sense of humor is more dry and honestly more of a boy sense of humor. If she says the word fart she will laugh hysterically and often will say it to get you to laugh as well.  She told me she loved me for the first time while I was on the potty and even though it wasn’t an ideal place for me to hear it, I will hold that memory in my heart forever.

Being the toughest kid I know, it is hard to tell when she is sick. If her throat hurts she will just deal and you have to look for the subtle clues. She will ask for more water than milk, or maybe lose interest in eating. otherwise you would never know.

IMG_8839
Her Hello Kitty Birthday Cake!

5yo was just what I needed when I didn’t even know I needed it! We are so blessed to have her in our lives and always remember this one thing. Never question how much love you have in your heart for a child, because where there was one heart you will grow two! (or three in my case)..

 

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

5 thoughts on “Growing Two Hearts

  1. I remember when I was pregnant with cristian, I felt the same way. I had a similar conversation with Trevor about my worries. I tried for 2 years for Adreonna and I didn’t think I could love my son the same. However my son is now my every breath. While I love my girls to the end of the earth my son is such a piece of my soul. There is always room for more love and as a mom my live has extended to my children’s friends.

Leave a Reply

