Posted in mommyhood

And so We Danced

life

Yesterday I created a post to remember to find the good times. To treasure the moments and live like there is no tomorrow! Watching a friend slowly deteriorate in front of your eyes, give you moments of clarity like that.

Lately life has been so busy that I find myself often not taking my own advice. I put words to writing because it’s honestly how I feel but often forget to follow the moments of wisdom that I often bestow upon my lovely followers.

But Not today! Today I lived! Today I follow my own advice. I have been putting in a lot of much-needed hours at work lately. Trying to get a project off the ground and in the end will be worth all the energy and effort put into it, but with school and three kids. well, let’s just say it has been mentally and physically draining.

I decided to leave work a little early and spend some time with my son! The husband had sassy (6yo)and mini me (5yo) so I was able to pick up Buddy (soon to be 2-year-old) and get his hair cut! We took him to get it cut and Oh my he cried the entire time! It was all show for show of course, because once she made the last snip with the scissors that silly boy knew it, stopped crying and ate his lollipop! Manipulative little thing isn’t he!

I decided that he deserved some Ice cream so we went to sonic and got a sundae and enjoyed the sweet treat in silence just me and my buddy! Ice cream and pure quiet I mean what’s not to love about that?

After returning home I instantly began to get sucked into pitiful habits. Staring at my phone while I should be paying attention to him. He was just playing toys right? The realization hit hard and I immediately stopped!

This time turning Pandora on to the Backyardigans station and we Danced! I acted childish and silly and just did not care! My son was what was important and in that moment I was his hero! The smile on his face and that infectious laugh will stay with me forever! Dancing until we were out of breath and laughing until we couldn’t laugh anymore. These are the moments to treasure!

Instantly reminded of how it felt to have my oldest without the other kids. I was not a manager at that time, four days together a week just me and her! It was a special time in my life. Easy, simple without all the stress of every day life and in that moment I felt it! Pure simple Joy radiating from my son and into my soul!

Tomorrow is another Day and it might prove to be stressful and parenting may take its toll in which the irritations and stress come back. But at least for today I danced!

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

2 thoughts on “And so We Danced

Leave a Reply

