Posted in mommyhood, Uncategorized

Pictures That Lie

wpid-img_20141005_211001.png

When I started this blog I promised myself it would not be a how to blog. Instead it would be a here is my life and take it or leave it kind of blog and I stand true to that. But there have been a few posts and or comments lately that have made me think that some readers need a little more. A need to feel normal!

Well, first let me tell you that you are normal and it happens to all of us. Whatever the it is, I promise every mother, grandmother and human being has probable felt it. So I thought I would start with a little honesty from our day at the farm today.

See these pictures, well they tell a story. However they tell a story that we want to tell.Believe it or not it is through pictures that we can often lie. We show family and friends pictures of posed smiling children with parents who are smiling or kissing and everyone thinks, oh well they must be the perfect family or have the perfect life.

The truth is we often give the appearance of the perfect life and no one life is perfect! The human species are designed to want more and make sure the public eye views us as the perfect American family.

While I am happy in my marriage and with my kids, I am not happy all the time! There are times that I just do not like my kids. I know that this may be awful to read but let’s face it, anyone who says that they like their kids one hundred percent of the time is an out right liar! We always love our kids, but we do not always like them!

Today I decided that we would forgo the house work and mundane daily activities and go to a local festival! I have been working incredibly long hours recently and wanted some quality time with the family. To say that I had envisioned us holding hands and skipping to music in our heads would be an understatement.

I wanted today to be absolutely perfect! kids enjoying the festivities while the hubby and I hold hands, you know the magical stuff! Well as always I was in for a rude awakening.

We arrived to the festival with one toddler who probably should have taken a nap first. Once we arrived he was all screams and fits for at least the first hour! Thankfully the festival was quite loud with the bounce houses and the music! In other words we just let him scream and throw his tantrum from the convenience of his very own stroller.

Then came the I want,I want and more I wants from the two girls. Non stop I want this and I want that. Polishing that off with a non stop crying fit if the oldest did not get what she wanted. Yeah and that happened a few times. We thought the festival was free, but all the rides and bounce houses cost money so we were in for a rude awakening once we got there. Needless to sat we did not get the girls everything they wanted when they wanted it!

wpid-img_20141005_210810.pngBuddy Boy loved the Tractors which was awesome! I loved watching him as he was trying to start one up to drive and since one of them still had the keys in it, he just might have figured it out if I let him sit there long enough! We tried to sign up the kids for the pig chase and that was a no go! Again a huge fantasy in my head that they would actually participate in such an event!

We finally made it to the big Tractors and the Hubby and Buddy looked so cute sitting on top that I wanted to walk over and take a picture when suddenly I hear ” I need to go potty!’ Yep, It did not matter that I asked five times already and only three-minutes prior, Now we suddenly have to go potty! So It’s a womans restroom let the waiting begin!

Next we made our way to the cotton fields where we attempted to take our pictures with the kids! Umm excuse me have you met my kids, they do not do paparazzi so well! UGGH, Again fantasy in my head!

Failed attempt to take a picture with the kids!
Failed attempt to take a picture with the kids!

Sassy had her face painted so Mini me decided to do sand art instead and let on the water works for sassy who thinks she has to have a face paint and sand art as well! All the while we are trying to take a family mule led wagon ride! Jeez! No we did not give in to her crying over the sand at either! She got the face paint and little sis got the sand art, but Lord you would have thought we were killing her! At one point I thought about taking to the side and spanking her one good time.

We finally made it to the wagon ride and oh wait we still have tears! UGGH this day has been non stop tears and i am completely over it! The hubby decides to grab a bite and then it is time to leave! once in the car Sassy begins screaming and crying yet again because the nats had gotten in the car! We dealt with this for ten miles I swear!

Can you say WTF! Finally calming down and the other two asleep we had some peace and quiet! The It was bath time and bedtime! It was truly a put the kids to bed early and drink a glass of wine kind of day!

As you see, the day was not perfect! We had some good moments in there but anytime you take the kids out it can be stressful! Yes, there were moments today that I truly did not like my kids! The love never fades don’t get me wrong, but at a point in time I did not like them. We are Human and it is normal to feel this way! Children and family services is not going to show up at your door step and deem you a bad parent for thinking it or saying it, no matter what society may say! Let’s be Honest with ourselves. We are not perfect and those who are trying to portray themselves as such are miserable, and depressed individuals and you just do not see it!  To all you mom’s out there I end with this, Keep Calm and drink a Glass of Wine! Tomorrow is another Day!

 

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

8 thoughts on “Pictures That Lie

  1. I really needed this post! 🙂 Lately I have been having the same feeling. There are days that I don’t like my kids. I have been feeling awful about this, but I guess I am not alone with this 🙂 CONGRATS ON SURVIVING YOUR “FUN” DAY 🙂

    1. You are not alone and I think there are many others they just feel like someone is going to think they are a bad parent if they say it out loud! I’m glad you could relate 🙂

    1. Thank you! I almost didn’t put the pic in the post and at the last minute thought what the heck why not! I try to stay up beat but sometimes you just have to show that motherhood is not all rainbows and butterflies so thank you for appreciating this post and for your kind words 🙂

  2. Love this – so very true. I’m taking my girls to a puppet show this afternoon and have this vision of them being wonderfully and raptly entertained and well-behaved. We shall see if my fantasy matches the forthcoming reality. It’s my first live theatre try with them….

    1. I’m glad you like it! I was honestly ver nervous to post this one as mostly I try to stay positive but sometimes you just have to let the negative feeling out! Good luck on your adventure today! Hope the little ones behave 😉

Leave a Reply

