Posted in Uncategorized

I Remember years of Influenza past..

Sickness.. It comes in waves and when left to the media comes in pandemics. They find the news and stretch it into something more grandiose than it needs to be. We are focusing on Ebola and the Enterovirus 68  right now, but when have we mentioned that flu season has arrived and the need to vaccinate is now stronger than ever.

I remember how awful it was last year to watch otherwise healthy young men and woman become hospitalized with the flu. I remember sending pregnant woman who were going to die to a larger hospital in hopes that maybe, just maybe we could save her for her new-born babies sake, and for the sake of her husband.

I remember doing chest compressions on a young, healthy and quite buff 40-year-old male as he died from respiratory complications due to the flu. We have had one case of Ebola in the united states and here we are dealing with the invisible pandemic. it may turn into one, but let’s be real. The flu is transferred by contact with the droplets from one person to the other. Which means you could get it from the air.

It is highly contagious and could be deadly. Last year’s mojo seemed to be young, healthy males but also the pregnant ladies who were in their third trimester.  In other words, people who thought they did not need to vaccinate because hey, the flu only kills sick people right?

Listening to a husband cry for his wife as she is being intubated to help her breath is possible one of the worst sounds possible. It is quite simply put unfair!

I have seen much more last year with the deaths of the victims that fell prey to the influenza pandemic surrounding our area last year. If you seen how many deaths I had seen then you would classify it just that, a pandemic. All of the victims had the same common theme. They did not get a flu vaccination.

I am not saying that you will not get the flu, but you should not get a deadly form of the flu or at least it will be less severe. My household gets the vaccination each year and we have still had the flu, but the symptoms were not as severe and it had a shorter life span than if we would have not had the flu.

If you are concerned about the vaccine itself I encourage you to do your research. Only you know what is best for you, but there are many myths out there regarding the vaccine that people tend to believe and shy away from getting it. With other illnesses like Ebola and the Enterovirus out there, I for one want to protect my kids from what I can and not stress over what I cannot control right now.

This post is part of the Stream of Consciousness prompt: http://lindaghill.com/2014/10/10/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-october-1114/

socs-badge

 

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

6 thoughts on “I Remember years of Influenza past..

  1. Such an important message! We all get the flu shot every year for my son’s sake. With his cardiac issues he’s susceptible to the worst things. Thanks very much for making this part of SoCS, April!

Leave a Reply

