Posted in Uncategorized

Tips from a Blogger while she is still learning

200

I now have over 200 followers which is AWESOME! While by some big bloggy standards that may not mean much but to me it is amazing! It serves as validation that I do have a voice! Thank you all for reading my little blog, this experience has been nothing short of wonderful.

Since i am still considering myself new at this ( less than a year) I thought I would share some tips that I have picked up along the way.

Tips from a blogger while she is still learning!

  1. SET no Expectations! – Every day 20,000 people decide to start a blog! – amazing huh.. So do not expect to be an overnight success because it will not happen
  2. You truly have to work at getting followers – In my early days I thought I would just write some stuff and people would read it and follow, but not so much! It wasn’t until I began to interact with other bloggers by commenting on their blogs that I began to build my own community
  3. Do not be afraid to do something different – if you always write in a certain style it is okay to try something new – you just may discover a new side to you
  4. Remember your readers can tell the different between a post that has something to say and a post just to post! – In effort to just get something out there, I have done this one myself and guess what? My readers did  not buy it! so lesson learned
  5. It’s okay to take a break – I know you just started and now we are talking about taking a break – but seriously life gets in the way sometimes and it’s just hard! The word press community is amazing and they will be here to support you when you get back!
  6. It will take time to find your voice I honestly began writing in one style and quickly realized that once I found my voice it was different from I had imagined. I wanted to write in this humorous sarcastic style and while that is certainly one side of me, I always ended up trying to up lift and encourage – so that has become my voice – but still a little sarcasm in the mix here and there
  7. You will get unfollowed – hey your writing will not be for everyone and while it hurts who the hell cares ( see my sarcasm is still in there) – but honestly the first time I realized i had been unfollowed by a blogger that I truly enjoyed it hurt, but then I realized that we have different styles and mine isn’t for them, so that’s okay with me.
  8. You will find connections that you have never imagined – there are some bloggers that I would probable be best friends with had they not lived so far away, so it’s nice to meet people across oceans from you that feel like family
  9. Social Media – this is the key to getting the word our there! Start a Facebook page or twitter account – we are social media machines and it works!
  10. Just be yourself – Have fun and enjoy the ride!

I hope you enjoyed my tips, They certainly would have helped me when I began almost a year ago! a special thanks to all of my followers who read what this tired mommy has to say! I appreciate all of you for reading and sticking around as this has been a personally enlightening experience in my Life!

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

13 thoughts on “Tips from a Blogger while she is still learning

    1. Thank you! I completely agree! The interactions are what Mae it a truly amazing experience and one that I did not realize I’ve grown to count on!

  1. Great points April! I was a bit like that and tried to write a funny, sarcastic blog but I knew it would be at odds with my parenting articles which are from a balanced no-judgemental viewpoint. I always try to be in a good mood when I blog as I don’t want to seem ungrateful for motherhood or upset the kids when they read it in years to come. 😉

Leave a Reply

