Posted in Baby Daddy

We had a Date night

wpid-2014-10-13-07-41-08-1527455910.jpeg

The apocalypse happened and me and the hubby were granted a date night! I can’t believe it myself because it had been so long! I know, I know.. it doesn’t take much to make this girl happy!

I randomly sent my sister-in-law a text asking her to watch the kids and she couldn’t do it the night i had asked for but said she could do it this Saturday! Naturally I jumped at the offer and said Yes without hesitation! You don’t have to tell this girl twice.

We are kind of low on funds here as of late, but decided to make the trip as it would be worth it for both of our sanity’s sake! Dropping the kids off at the in-laws we decided on a BBQ restaurant that was very inexpensive.

I felt like a woman again. Not someone’s mom, but April! A thirty something woman who was out on a date. The hubby held open my doors like he did when we were dating. Quite the change from both of us toting around our kids while kicking the door shut behind us!

I had forgotten how much my husband actually talks while at the restaurant. We talked the entire time as if we did when staying up till 4am in those early dating stages. A well-kept secret for those who do not know the Hubby because most would categorize him as the silent type. It honestly surprised me when we started dating because until then I had thought he was the silent type as well.

Next was a movie! Two Hours of quiet time just me and the hubby, Umm yes please! Alexander and the terrible, no good very bad day! It was hilarious and a much-needed laugh for two parents who had been stressed to the max! I highly recommend you watching the movie it was great and just what the doctor ordered.

After two hours of much-needed alone time it was time to pick up the kiddos, and you know what? They were so exhausted all we did was pick them up and go straight to bed! It even gave us a little time to miss them.

We lose our identity as parents, and forget that the one we drift away from will be the one who is still around once the kids grow up and move out. Most days are hard pressed to find some time together, but I think necessary.

I am afraid that If I do not begin to make more of an effort with my husband then once the kids are gone we will forget why we got married in the first place. Our date night was a nice refresher, but we must remember to make that effort more often. Not just when the stars and moon aligns once every eight months or so!

So this is my declaration that at least once every two months We will make an effort to spend time together. I know once every two months is not much but baby steps people, baby steps. Whether it be a put the beds to early and sit on the couch together date or a go out on the town type of date we will stick to this! We will not forget that we were first a couple before parents. We will remember why we fell in love and foster that relationship like it deserves to be fostered.

How Long has it been since your last date? Has it been months or was it just last week? What tips or suggestions do you have for parents who are having trouble making time for each other?

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

6 thoughts on “We had a Date night

  1. I think once every two months is really reasonable when you figure in babysitting costs and such. I am glad y’all had fun!

    (Last date…too long ago!)

  2. We don’t have family near by, but we’ve come up with a few good ways to make time for ourselves. At least once a month, we “split” a sitter with friends and have dinner together. The kids and sitter stay at one house for pizza and play, we adults retreat to the other house to have a nice dinner and adult conversation together.
    We’ve also found that afternoon dates are fun! We can hire a teenage sitter from down the block to watch our girls for a few hours in the afternoon (no bedtimes means a younger, less expensive sitter works A-OK) while we get lunch out and do some window shopping in stores we’d never take our kids to!

    1. Katey that’s perfect! I was thinking of setting something up like like that with the sister in law! We have family close by but for the most part are too busy or sometimes unwilling to baby sit so I like the idea of trading off! Thanks for the tip 🙂

  3. My husband and I got a few hours together the weekend before last. It felt great, but it also made me a little sad because of how it underscored how little we usually see each other these days. I made a unilateral commitment to go out with him once a month … still have to get his commitment, but I think I will!

    Then Saturday we had to do some tidying up before our landlords came. The grandmas took the kiddos, but held onto them a few hours after the landlords left. We got to lounge around at home, and it was glorious! More, please. I want to see my husband as my partner, not just my kids’ dad, and these moments really help. 🙂

    1. Thats awesome! After kids it is really easy to forget your relationship and we have been guilty of this for almost seven years now, so its time for us to have us time again! Im glad to see you are fi ding some stolen moments here and there 🙂

Leave a Reply

