Posted in The letter series

To my Daughter’s Daycare

Dear Ladies who take care of my daughter,

     I walked in the building today with five-year old in tow. Signed her in, put up her backpack and then walked her back to the morning class. You did not see me at first as you and your coworker were standing with your backs turned to the children starting at the i phone. We had a storm the night before and you were chatting about the weather, and while I understand your curiosity and that you were trying to see the local radar, I seen something totally different.

   It was a full minute of watching you two talking and looking down at the weather app before turning to notice mine and my daughters attendance. I hugged her and said goodbye with much reluctance on my part I might add. You did not see what I see. Until you have looked at this scenario from a parent’s eyes, then you can not possible understand.

  I seen two employees standing there with children eating breakfast with their backs turned to them. I seen the possibilities of what could go wrong in sixty seconds while your backs were turned. Did you know that if a child or any human is truly choking that they will make absolutely no sound at all. If you have attended basic CPR, and I know that you in deed have as it is required, then you would know this tidbit of information. It takes less than sixty seconds for a choking victim to become unconscious and stop breathing. Please do not turn your backs on them.

  My daughter is the single most important person in my life and I as a working mother have to trust you explicitly. You are part of the team that is helping me to raise her and teach her. Do not turn your back on her.

I realize that parents are not able to keep 100 percent watchful eye on their kids. I understand that this thought may be crossing your mind as you read this. However, You are being trusted with at least ten children each day and that is your sole and only responsibility for those eight hours. At the risk of sounding a bit snobbish, it is what you are getting paid to do. Do not turn your back on her.

    If you do not feel that you can take care of the precious life that I have intrusted upon you, then you do not need to be in child care. I have a high stress job in which i can deal with the most intimidating of persons and guess what is the single most difficult part of my day is? It is dropping off my children every morning and trusting their care to strangers in hopes that they will protect and care for them while I am off trying to provide for them. That is the absolute scariest part of my day.  She is my heart and my sole and deserves the best care you can offer. So not turn your back on her.

   You could not see the fury on my face as I left your facility with sadness and anger all over my face. You did not see me plant a smile on my face as I pretended to be okay for the other two kid’s sake. I wanted to yell at you and say What the hell! But I refrained from doing just that. Instead I passively walked out and await to bring to your director’s attention. I do not think you are bad or need to get terminated. But I do think that this needs to be brought to your attention. If it is one thing that I hope you take away from all this is the importance of your role in caring for my daughter, and never ever again, turn you back on her.

                                                                      Regards,

                                                                            April

 

 

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

8 thoughts on “To my Daughter’s Daycare

Leave a Reply

