Posted in mommyhood

Teaching innocence about Drugs

 

Pure Sweet innocence
Pure Sweet innocence

We were sitting at the table and you asked me if I knew why you were wearing your Red shirt today. I knew the answer but was enjoying conversing with you so I asked why. Proudly you told me it was for Say no to Drugs day, and then asked me what drugs were.

Instinctively I looked into your innocent blue eyes and said they are something that makes you sick and are bad. Now, I love how you want to know the reason behind everything, however sometimes it can be a bit overwhelming. Asking me the dreaded Why question that left me speechless and ultimately saying because.

I realize that this answer in the long run will not be enough. I realize that as you get older we will need to have many discussions on drugs and the real reason that you should stay away from them.

I am of course referring to the illicit kind that are purchased on the street or from a “friend”. Notice the quotations around friend because anyone who sells you those types of drugs are not your friend. They do not care about your well-being, just the money that you pay them for the product they give.

As I sit here tapping at the keyboard I am pondering the one question to your answer. At six years old how do you explain the things that I have seen in my line of work.  I have seen it all baby. Dumbasses Young kids starting drugs with just a little taste that turns into an addiction so hard and fast it will make your head spin.

I have seen these young people die of heart attacks because their poor little hearts could not keep up with the crack that they so desperately put into their bodies. All the while I think to myself was it worth it? Was that high and that moment worth dying and leaving your family behind? Someone’s mother,brother,sister or friend. Was it worth it?

To them maybe it was, They were in fact dependent on that foreign substance to make them whole. how do I explain addiction to you at this young of an age. That it runs in our family and we all need to be careful. If not drugs then with alcohol.  We have to be careful and be strong. The physical need of these drugs can ruin your relationships and destroy any future that you may have. Becoming addicted means placing your want for the drug above all else. Who cares if you steal or lie to get it. Just as long as you have that one hit right?

When you do not get it then the heart begins to race a little. You might become sweaty and incoherent. Hallucinations can begin until you do not even recognize where you are at. This, is the very essence of addiction.

The good thing is that if you never try it, then you cannot become addicted. It is hard and there are kids your age who will want you to try it. Do not let them take you down that rabbit hole sweetheart. it is a dark and lonely place. You are better than that. Stay confident in who you are and stay true to yourself. Do not give in. Not even once. Remember that all drug addicts started with just that one time that turned into just once more.

I remember in the eight Grade a boy in my class asked me to smoke some weed. I just looked at him and said no! I would love to tell you that he said okay and that he left me alone, but he simply did not. He asked me over and over again, trying to get me to give in. Come on he said, just give it a try.

Peer pressure by definition is just that, Your peers trying to pressure you int doing what they want you to do. I know this is difficult to resist and keep saying no, but you must! Believe it or not that is just what I did! I kept saying no, until he finally gave up and guess what? He did not stop being my friend. He did not make fun of me and we spoke casually after that event. He obviously was not the kind of kid I wanted to hang out and so I did not.

Now, I am not telling you these things to make myself sound perfect because we both know that I am not. But I can tell you that although it is not easy, you can overcome the effects of peer pressure and please do not let anyone pressure you into doing something that you do not want to do.

I am simply telling you this because today you asked me a question about drugs and in reality eighth grade is only seven years from now. This post is the best way I can describe how drugs can ruin your body. I hope that we can read this together in a few years and that it will help you understand.

Drugs hurt. Drugs Kill. Drugs make people still. Drugs Lie and ruin relationships,Drugs takes the innocence of young little boys and girls like yourself. Drugs takes away true happiness and rob you of your safety.

Today you proudly  said  ” No to Drugs” and I pray to GOD that it stays that way!

 

 

 

 

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

10 thoughts on “Teaching innocence about Drugs

    1. The Hospital I work for is in a partnership with the Mayo Clinic! I love them and will be heading over to that site for information! Thanks for reading and commenting 😉

  1. I think your daughter will be moved by this post when she gets to read it. Very convincing how you talk a about your own experience, too. She’s lucky to have you as her mama 🙂

  2. Hello there April – I just found you through #SundayBlogShare
    Wow. What a powerful post!
    Though I’m not a parent, this really put into perspective how daunting a task it must seem sometimes.
    Well done – you have a new follower 🙂

    1. Thanks so much! As a parent blogger I wonder if those who are not parents can appreciate what I write! You just made my day! Thanks for taking the time to comment and for the follow 🙂

  3. An important post about a difficult subject, very well-handled, April. 🙂
    I have a teen with Aspergers and I always want to tell him enough to know drugs are bad without peaking his interest.
    Thanks for this and your other great posts. I’ll keep reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

