Posted in Baby Daddy

Dad’s are Human too

Exhausted and ready for bed I walk up to my house to see the lights are still on. Oh great I thought. Now after the longest day ever I have to put the kids to bed before i can do anything else. Being that it  is 9:00pm and my school night, this thought annoyed me a little. He should have put them to bed after all.

Bracing myself and taking a deep breath I open the door ready for whatever chaos awaits/ There in my living room was three fast asleep people. My Oldest Daughter on the couch. The Hubby and middle child on the recliner. This would have been a lovely night, except there sits my 2yo covered in chocolate with a Big grin on his face. “Hi MOMMA!” he says!

Feeling the heat rise up my neck and my blood boiling, I just calmly set down my stuff. Trying not to yell, I just grab that sweet little face and said Son, Why are you still awake!  Taking him and cleaning his face I soon lay him down to bed.

Attempting to wake up the hubby and say hey dud What the Hell didn’t work! He was snoring louder than a freight train and clearly exhausted as was I!

Uggh so annoyed. Doesn’t he know that I was up since 2am with mini me and her ear ache that turned out to be an ear infection! I went into work late to take her to the doctor, so hadn’t I done my part. All he needed to do was just put the baby to bed first. It still makes me cringe at the thought of everything that could have gone wrong.

The next morning i had awaken, still a little mad from the previous nights events. Then I was reminded of the time my son let himself out of the house while i was using the restroom. You can find that post here.

The point being we talk about mom guilt and how we should not judge one another. But dad’s are  human too and they make mistakes. He was tired and obviously did not intend to fall asleep, so I should cut him some slack right?

wpid-children-snore-sleep-husband-dad-father-epa1838_low.jpgPhoto credit: Cartoonstock.com

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

7 thoughts on “Dad’s are Human too

  1. I’ve had a couple of moments where I was so exhausted I fell asleep with both kids running free. Nothing’s happened in those moments, but they (usually) serve as my reminder we’re all just doing the best we can. (May we keep being so lucky as to have that best not result in too many ER visits!)

    1. Oh I know! I was very thankful it was only chocolate he had gotten onto! The hubby is definitely doing his best trying to take care of all three kids so I can attend class. Thankfully this will be my last night class and all others can be taken on line 🙂

  2. Wonderful reminder! Today during breakfast I had a moment that I wanted to get upset because I didn’t feel I had help but then I realized, I didn’t ask for it and I was about to snap at my husband for doing nothing wrong.

Leave a Reply

