Posted in mommyhood

Why you will not find the perfect tree at my house

 

wpid-img_9859.jpg.jpgI’m sitting here scrolling through my Facebook feed of all these pictures of children with their perfect smiles in front of the most perfectly decorated Christmas trees. There was one mom brave enough to post a picture of broken ornaments on the floor. I applaud her for that except she stated how she prefers to keep control of the Christmas decorating and this scenario just proves why.

Here is the thing, That’s just Bull sh**! I understand that there are some ornaments that are heirlooms and you have been collecting them for many years.  How about not putting those out for the kids to break. Just a thought. Better yet, put a small tree on your bedroom dresser to display those ornaments until your children get a little bigger.

Some of my fondest memories are of my my brother, sister and having free reign over the Christmas tree decorating. My mom didn’t care if there was ornaments too close together, nor did she mind if one was broken. When you have kids you just kind of expect to have some broken. It’s Murphy’s law or something like it.  Let’s call it Togravity! ( Toddler Gravity)!

We would spend hours oohing and ahhing over those ornaments. Hanging them up with smiles on our faces. Sometimes a Holiday movie would be playing in the background and the house would be warm and cozy!  It was such a happy time. It did not matter to us if we had the fanciest ornaments or the biggest tree. Our house wasn’t perfect and neither was our family. But for one thing was certain. We had each other and that was enough. Oh and lots of presents on christmas morning do not forget! Hey we were kids, there was at least some materialism going on there. I said we weren’t perfect.

Tonight we put up our tree and the memories of my childhood came flooding back. Buddy and Mini Me fist began playing in the tree box while Sassy put on the ornaments. They were having a great time in the box but eventually  joined in on the decorating fun and helped create a  masterpiece on our tree.wpid-2014-11-30_19.56.22.jpg

Buddy took the clicker and kept turning the lights off and on, while mini me kept dropping ornaments on the floor. It’s a good thing I have enough sense to buy the non breakable kind.  While the christmas music played we laughed  and had a fun time. It was simply a joyous occasion!

The memories are what  count. The time we spend  together enjoying the holiday season. It is not about the tree or the presents ( although my kids might disagree). It’s not about the kids wearing that perfect outfit wile decorating the tree. ( because they have to look their best in the pictures of course). It’s about the laughter, the moment we are in and remembering why we have this season to begin with.

wpid-2014-11-30_19.56.54.jpgMy tree has ornaments clumped together. Some of the lights are not working and we cannot figure out why. There is an ornament of Olivia on it with two ears that have broken off ( one of the only breakable ones I own). The angel on top is the one we have had since we were married. The wings are slightly broken and it sits a little crooked. There are pictures of my kids in funky frames that they have painted all over it. There is even a brown bag with Sassy’s hand print that looks kind of silly. There might be one picture of my husband and myself before kids on there. It is slightly leaning to the left despite efforts to stand it up straight. It is most certainly not perfect, and might make most mom’s cringe. But it is perfect to us, because displayed on that tree is more love, laughter, and momentous occasions that help us keep the spirit of Christmas alive. For just a few months it becomes a standing reminder of the love we have for one another and that is the reason you will not find a perfect Christmas tree at my house!

wpid-2014-11-30_19.46.51.jpg

 

 

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

26 thoughts on “Why you will not find the perfect tree at my house

    1. Thank you!! I think it’s pretty awesome! Most of my friends have color schemes and perfectly placed ornaments. It’s such a weird control issue with some. How long do you keep your tree up? Is it taken down the day after Christmas?

  1. “Perfect” would be awfully boring, anyway! It’s the memories and the loves, as you say. And your tree looks like it’s got a lot of great, meaningful decorations.

  2. We always wait until our kids are both home from university and put the tree up as a family. We’ve kept every ornament they ever made and we always have a great time doing it, especially laughing at the pathetic state some of them have ended up in (they go to the back!). Nothing matches and we love it.

    1. See I love it! That makes the holidays more special and I hope we still have our kids little treasures when they are grown! I had a friend last year tell me how brave I was to leave the ornaments alone that she would have had to rearrange them! So silly all that pressure on one self over a christmas tree! Thanks for reading 🙂

  3. Sounds like you have the right idea! We let out kids decorate our tree this weekend. My 2-year-old was totally enchanted by the whole thing.

    We have two sets of unbreakable plastic balls she put up.

    Our tree is lovely. So is yours! And your kids had fun!

  4. I honestly believe decorating the tree while listening to Christmas music every Friday after Thanksgiving is the reason I love Christmas so much. Mama made putting the tree together (apparently real trees were fire starters) and decorating it was a big deal. Our ugly ornaments got on the tree every year.We laughed, drank hot coco, and sang. My brother has continued the tradition with his family. The perfect Christmas tree looks like the family made it.

    Note: My Mom would go back and space out the ornaments a little. I had a tendency to be lazy and put them all in the front and forget the back. Nobody could see the back of the tree so why put ornaments there anyway. I was really being practical when you think about it.

    Tl/dr version: I loved your post.

  5. Beautiful. After my wife and I got all the lights working on the tree (50 of them had burned out) she and I hung the breakable. The non-breakables were in their own bag that I put on the floor and let the kids dig through. Over a period of about 3 days they would put some ornaments one when the mood would strike them. Sometimes we would all be in helping, sometimes it would be just the two kids, sometimes it would be one of them by themselves. It got decorated stress free! Love your story!

  6. I think trees covered in handmade ornaments that the kids hang way too close together are the most perfect of all the trees. After all, they are the ones that are decorated with love.

    Your tree is gorgeous 🙂

Leave a Reply

