Posted in mommyhood

No more Diapers..No more wipes..No more stinky poopy nights…

wpid-images.jpeg

Okay so I might still have some stinky poopy nights but you get the idea. Buddy (2yo) has began to successfully potty train! he has been in his big boy underwear for almost a week now and seems to be doing great!

A bit of nostalgia hits as I think of my last baby in leaving the world of diaperhood. It’s an amazing and exciting time while being equally disheartening at the same time. I’m not going to sit here and tell you that not buying diapers is the equivalent of a small pay raise or anything! Because hey, that’s the perk of it all!

The thought of this time of our life has me missing those baby days and they aren’t completely over yet. Or are they? He already talks in full sentences and has for some time now. I swear he went straight from crawling to running, there was no walking for this boy!

So here I am missing those cuddles and sweet coos. For all of you wondering if I am having baby fever well fear not! We are done! Three is quite enough to keep us mildly insane thank you! There is just something about the last child in diapers that brings a tear to your eyes.

Okay, teary moment over! I was asked by a fellow blogger for some potty training tips so I am going to try and incorporate that in this post. After three kids I think we finally have this potty training down so I am happy to share what I know with you, which may not be much but here goes!

  1. Timing is everything.. We waited a long time with the oldest and she would have been ready sooner but her parents were not quite ready! So do not wait too long if the bambino is showing signs of readiness! otherwise it will take longer to potty train as said bambino will get used to being Lazy!!

  2. Rewards as a last resort! we had to do the sticker chart/prizes with the oldest to get her motivated but then she expected a toy every time she pooped for years to come! So tread lightly on that one.. Going potty should be an expectation not something rewarded unless as a last resort!

  3. Remember who the child is.. We tried potty training early with the second child to prevent the same situation as the oldest. Well. No dice.. She would not have it so we stopped.. Then one glorious day she decided on her own that she needed to go potty, went to the bathroom handled her business and has been going ever since! no fanfare needed!!

  4. Praise,Praise and more Praise... I know I said no prizes earlier but make a big deal and clamp and cheer when they do go potty!! especially in those early stages.. This is what has worked for my 2yo!! he gets so excited and claps and cheers!!!

  5. Understand when there are accidents.. Do not shame them, just simply say oh I wish you had used the potty but let’s go clean you up. This will not bring any attention to the act other than just setting the behavior.

  6. Timing is everything again.. Know your child’s schedule and take them every hour if you have to until they begin to tell you when they have to go.. I for the first few days would set an alarm and take him every hour. It is alot of work but now can take him every hour and a half and soon he will begin telling me instead of me telling him.

  7. No potty Seats!! I hate these things and they are completely disgusting! Sorry but I clean bedpans at work and am not about to do the same at home!!I have potty trained all three of my kids on a regular toilet.

  8. Pull ups only at night!! Pull ups are good at night but in my experience when used in the daytime are used as even more expensive diapers. Be prepared for accidents and leakage with underwear but really is the only way to train your toddler.

  9. Do not stress the child. Potty training can be a stressful time and I even read a statistic that most child abuse begins when a child is potty training. Relax and do not put that much pressure on yourself or that little one!! The more he or she stresses the more accidents will happen. Resolve carpet cleaner is a great thing to have on hand!! Besides When in doubt toss it out!! I had to toss a recliner out one time.. Serous this is no lie!!

  10. Dad will never be as good as mom.. This is just a fact!! My husband was home with the kids for a few hours today and did he take buddy to the potty once.. Umm no he did not! Oh and kids always want mom to wipe their butts.. just saying!! No really it kind of sucks….

Okay so I hoped you enjoyed my tips of the trade.. Maybe you got a giggle, I know I did! Potty training can be fun and can be stressful. In my case a little sad. Embrace this milestone and get ready for the next because they grow at rapid pace and we are all just along for the ride!

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

4 thoughts on “No more Diapers..No more wipes..No more stinky poopy nights…

  1. Congratulations on stepping free of what I think is the worst part of parenting! Myself, I have a catastrophic send-off planned for the dreaded diaper pail when the time comes.

  2. Now we just need a manual for the “male adult stumbling to the bathroom in the dark of night but not wanting to turn on the lights because that would wake him up too much and damn, it was hard enough to get to sleep…Don’t pee on the seat, don’t pee on the seat”…

    Enjoyed your post and definitely laughed out loud a few times!

Leave a Reply

