Posted in acceptance

Ten Things of Thankful

thankful

When the world feels like it is crashing down around you then you have two choices! Sit around and wallow in your self-imposed pity  party or get up dust yourself off and remember the good that is in your life. Since I have already done the former then it is time to do the Latter!

We have had our share of financial stressors here recently and it’s just time to say it is what it is and it is not changing anytime soon! So this weekend I will let it go and focus on what I am truly thankful for! and yes i have a lot to be thankful for despite our current situation,

  1. 1.  I did not get thrown up on Today!! Mini me has strep throat and seems to be feeling better today. yesterday however let’s just say I was wearing her symptoms!!!
  2. I am Thankful that my statistics class is almost over and I will most likely end it with an A!!! I can’t believe I will get an A in statistics!!! Math is not my thing but hey, I’m trucking along just fine.
  3. I am thankful for supportive coworkers who took care of my unit so I could stay home with the sick one!! it is never easy being away as a manager but my team does just fine without me 🙂
  4. My best friend!! She has listened to me complain about everything under the sun and did just what i needed her to! Listen, get mad with me and say I am sorry and we will need to have a margarita soon!
  5. Today I was able to rearrange and clean the girls room! It was much-needed and they have way more room to play now!
  6. My kids!! They put a smile on my face even when they are being naughty!
  7. The weekend!! I am excited to enjoy some Christmas activities with the kids this week!!! We all need to take a minute and just enjoy the season upon us and bonus these activities are free!
  8. Christmas movies!! I can’t help it they make me happy! In fact I will watch my all time favorite National Lampoons Christmas Vacation tonight!wpid-05655a6e3b8a8c0.gif
  9. Naps.. I was able to take a nap today yall!! Wohhoo it was awesome, it was glorious, it was perfect!!
  10. last but not least.. We have a roof over our head, food in our tummies and with all that is going on that is and has to be enough.

So there it is my very first Ten things of Thankful Post!! This season i am determined to have the happiest Christmas of all!!!

 

also I am on Facebook if you wanna read more of my stuff!!https://www.facebook.com/Diapersandtutus

 

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

27 thoughts on “Ten Things of Thankful

  1. Sorry for the recent financial stuff.

    Matthew’s main symptom for strep was stomach problems, so I feel for you there too. I am glad you had good things to list for the week after everything else! 🙂

  2. Welcome to the TToT! There is nothing wrong with having a little pity party before realizing you have to suck it up and move on, and the TToT is a great place to work that out.
    I totally understand financial stress. I’d like to say “been there, done that” but I can only say “been there.” Some day, it will get better; we tell ourselves that often at my house.
    There’s nothing to scoff at if you made it through a day with out being thrown up on! Strep is really nasty this year already, and I’ve had several preschoolers come down with it, with fever, vomiting and rash. Fortunately, no throwing up at school (my #1 rule is “Don’t throw up in Miss Dyanne’s classroom”). Hope your daughter is better and no one else in the family gets it.

  3. Welcome to the TToT April! Christmas Vacation is one of my all time favorite movies and part of our annual Christmas movie tradition:) I bet Scrooged is also on your Christmas movie list. If not, it should be!
    You are so right. Sometimes you just need to acknowledge that there are challenges in day to day life that are seemingly insurmountable, indulge in the “bad” feelings and then, as you say, “get up dust yourself off and remember the good that is in your life.”
    From someone who is also not a math person, CONGRATULATIONS on an A in statistics. I dropped my statistics class freshman year of college after the first class LOL.

  4. Great list! I just might follow your lead and get a nap in later today – that sounds marvelous. I too am full on in the holiday spirit. I love Christmas Vacation, it’s hysterical, but my all time favorite is The Polar Express. I can’t wait to watch it next week with my daughter!

  5. well…. on the basis of the information and date provided, the chances of your getting an ‘A’ are…

    (it was hilarious in my head…. now to only learn to not type the jokes until after I see how they read)

  6. Welcome to the TTOT!

    I like to wallow first for a bit….a few hours…maybe a day…then start looking for the good. I need my wallow time.

    Yay for no puke!

    Understanding coworkers AND friends.. that my friend is a double win!

  7. A wonderful list, packed full of the really important things in life. Hopefully your financial situation will improve. I know how tough that can be. Enjoy the holidays!

  8. Welcome to TToT! It’s always nice to see someone looking so positive when things are tough. I try to do the same.

    1. Indeed they are! Stats has been surprisingly easy but only because the teacher tells us how to work the calculator otherwise it is brutal! Thanks for reading 🙂

  9. Welcome to the TToT! It’s always nice to meet new people. Congrats on the A. Hope the strep is over quickly–strep throat is no fun!

  10. Welcome to the TToT 🙂 This is a really great frist (you’ll get it in time 😉 ) post. I’m glad to read in the comments that your daughter’s health is improving now. There is NEVER a ‘too soon’ for that to happen!

    I’m so glad that you have a good team who support you, and a best friend who’s able to help pick up the pieces. I hope that you really enjoy the Christmas activities next weekend and that your daughter’s able to join in fully.

    YAY NAPS! 🙂

Leave a Reply

