Posted in mommyhood

Please do not ask me if I am ready for Christmas

It’s the most wonderful time of year or so they say. Typically I love Christmas and have my shopping done, the kids and I have done Christmas Lights and crafts.  This year has been different and we are starting late in the game.

So Here is the deal. Stop asking me if I am ready for Christmas already! I realize you are making polite conversation but no I am not ready for Christmas and will probable still shopping on December 23rd this year!  It’s not because I don’t love my children or because I don’t want to do the shopping but we have had our struggles. These struggles are coming to an end. Several of the Hubby’s paychecks were screwed up and we found out first hand what it is like if we do not have that money that we depend on every paycheck and guess what it sucks!

We had things turned off, checks bounce and believe me it was awful. They have now for the final check been corrected so finally, we can shop for Christmas! My kids will not get bikes this year or any fancy hundred dollar tablets but the good thing about kids these ages is it could cost 5 dollars and they would not care! This year I am thankful for that.

So do me a favor when asking others if they are ready for Christmas! If the answer is no, do not look at the with pity or make any comments t suggest that they should already be done with their shopping.  There may be struggles that you are unaware of and should not be aware of.

Christmas should be about togetherness and enjoying the company of each other. Not about the presents you buy. Let’s remember why we have Christmas and it is not to create debt for one time of year. It is to celebrate the our family, to remember the birth of Christ if you believe in jesus. It is to love on another like there is no tomorrow and should not be measured by how much you spend.

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

9 thoughts on “Please do not ask me if I am ready for Christmas

  1. Maybe it’s just me, but actually I never met anyone before who was judgmental about not being ready for Christmas in advance. Quite the opposite, I met a lot of people joking how they would have to rush the last minute. It’s quite ridiculous to connect ‘Christmas readiness’ to how much you care for your kids! You’re doing absolutely fine! I’m sure you’ll have a wonderful Christmas with your family, caring about what really counts 🙂

    1. I think it’s just part of the self imposed pressure we all put on ourselves. At least for me it is. I have had people say oh girl I am not ready either but have also had people so oh well it will be okay, there is still time. When I didn’t say I was worried to begin with lol.

  2. I couldn’t agree more!! This year has been rough with unexpected expenses and really stupid ones like our bank decided to drop a bomb on us that they actually don’t pay our homeowners insurance the first year even though we paid it with our closing costs so we now have to pay it twice ugh!! I am also thankful that Avery does not realize how much things cost so cheap books are saving me this Christmas. Actually the One Spot at Target has been wonderful for a lot presents this year 🙂 Good luck to you and don’t feel bad for not being “done”. I am usually never “done” until the day of the last Holiday party 😉 I like and usually have to go shopping quite a few times due to not having tons of disposable income and it’s nice cause then it’s not so stressful.

    1. Oh my word! That is aweful! I have to agree with the low stress. Even though we are strapped for cash this year it has been much less stressful! Love target one spot that’s usually where I get the stocking suffers 🙂

      1. Luckily our insurance let us do monthly payments. But since we were behind two months because I just assumed that our bank was paying them we ended up having to come up with three months right away because you pay a month in advance. I got the cutest bags for my cousins kids cause we exchange names from the one spot. I got an Elsa bag and Transformers 🙂

  3. I could have written this myself. I am nowhere near ready and don’t think that I will be anytime soon. Like you we have had some money troubles and for the first year ever we have been cutting people off the gift list!! I am still going to enjoy my little boy’s first Christmas though and be thankful for what we do have.

    1. All I can say is thank goodness for Amazon prime! I went to Target today and holy cow it was crazy! There is something so special about a baby’s first Christmas. Enjoy it 🙂

Leave a Reply

