Posted in mommy mishaps

That Finger

Today started out as  typical Monday. Dragging all three kids out of bed. Getting them fed,dressed and out the door. We made our way to the first drop off of the morning, There are three so yes mornings are hectic. All was going well and I got 5yo to school when I returned to my car. Opening the door Sassy says look mom!

Standing there quiet I just couldn’t believe what I was seeing. Hmm I bet you are wondering what she was showing me huh? Well wait no more. I stood there in shock as my 7yo looks at me with her middle finger in the air! Look mom it’s m middle finger! So yes it is.

Where did she see that, how could she. All these thoughts racing in my mind. Very calmly I decided to use this opportunity to teach her about what that particular symbol meant and why it was disrespectful even though I know that was not her intent. Just when I was about to give myself the most awesome mom award Is when I gave myself the you’re a shitty mom award!

That child started bawling like a baby as if I had yelled at her or something! What the hell! She disrespected me and she has the nerve to cry when I teach her that it is not nice to flip people the bird!

Geez, kids these days!

Have you ever experienced a situation like this? Please tell me I am normal!

I’m also on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/Diapersandtutus

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

8 thoughts on “That Finger

  1. hahahaha! Nope. Boys do a lot less bursting into tears, probably. (Thank goodness.) I have had to deal with “the bird” though. Caleb kept shooting me the bird, knowing full well that it was BAD. He learned that from a friend at school, only thankfully, he did it wrong, so he was actually pointing at me, with a defiant look on his face. At least your daughter did not have the ill will that Caleb did….Caleb did a similar thing with rolling his eyes. He’d read about it, so he knew it was “disrespectful”, so he kept trying to roll his eyes at me, but really he was just moving his eyes side to side over and over again. Hilarious. Thankfully, both of those phases have ended.

  2. Such a tough situation to be in. . . . It’s always tricky to know if the child actually understands what they are doing, or copying someone, or just showing off the finger dexterity of a concert pianist. Hang in there, she’ll know you were being kind.

    1. lol is so true! She survived the day despite her mommy telling her she was being disrespectful. she is such a sensitive soul that one, but hey I don’t think she will be using that finger again anytime soon! At least until she is a teenager that is 😉

  3. Bless her… I think you dealt with it right. She doesn’t need to feel guilty if she didn’t know what she was doing but at least she did it to you and not anyone else! I think we just have to gently educate them that some of the things they copy off other kids are not nice -and they need to know eventually! Mine used to make up nonsence songs and occasionally I’d hear an odd swear word by accident. I just had to tell them they weren’t being naughty but that word does actually have a meaning that upsets people so don’t use it. I was so scared they’d go saying it at school!

Leave a Reply

