Posted in mommyhood

A letter to my Stubborn Child who is trying to have me committed

Dear mini me,

I call you mini me for a reason and it is not just because you are the exact replica of my younger self. You have a stubborn streak that pales in comparison to that of my own. Today you learned a valuable lesson that your actions have consequences and that sometimes we just do not get what we want.

The evening started of great! I was able to leave work on time in order to watch you at Ballet Class. A the time you were in a good mood and told me about your day.

After your class was over is when things started to change. I told you and Sassy that we would get some Chick Fil A and that we we might go to Target to pick up daddy’s medicine. Apparently this was the wrong thing to say and where our turmoil begins.

immediately youย tell me how you want a toy from the store! As I look you in the eye and say no the screams began! Making it to the car you are still screaming about this imaginary toy that you wanted! Nevermind Christmas being right around the corner, no you wanted a toy now!ย  As I quietly buckle you in your seat while your screams burst my eardrums, I think to myself on thing! This is it, this is the day they have to lock me in a mental ward!

I wanted to yell and spank and scream back, but I did not! I just said you are not getting a toy and stop the screaming. But did you listen? Oh no, the most stubborn child on earth would never do that!

For fifteen minutes your sister and I listened to the deafening sounds of your screams. Once we arrived at Chick Fil A I pulled into a parking space and explained that if you did not stop the screams then you would not get the treat of a drive through!ย  Testing your limits the blood curdling screams continued so apologizing to your sister I drove away!

This is the moment the screaming went from I want a toy to I want a snack. The screaming I could handle and even the toys you decided to throw in the car! But once you unbuckled yourself from your seat and threw yourself on the floor of the care I had to pull over!

Enough was enough after all! I put you back in the seat, buckled you and gave you one spank on the behind. Explained that safety is important and if you are not buckled then you are not safe! We then continued the drive home as you continued to scream!

After we arrived home, I gave you a small snack and you were sent to bed. Then your silly self asked me if you could watch you tube! Umm no maam! We did the bedtime ritual of milk,story and kisses and off to sleep you went.

Today you learned that your actions have consequences. That if you do not listen to mommy and daddy then you will not get any treats! It is a hard lesson to learn, but it is a much-needed lesson. The fact that you automatically expected a toy from target tells me that me that this was a lesson for me too! We have clearly lead you to believe that a trip to the store equals a prize or toy for you. A lesson that I needed to learn.

Here is the deal! We will figure out this parent child thing together. We will both make mistakes. Today you made the mistake of assuming I would cave and give in to your little hearts desire but I did not.

Tonight I hope you have sweet dreams! Tomorrow is another day and hopefully you will have learned your lesson. I love you so much and that will never change! But for ow I am glad you are resting peacefully! It’s been a Day!!!

Love,

MOM

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

14 thoughts on “A letter to my Stubborn Child who is trying to have me committed

  1. *sigh* I am still living this, but my children are 7 and 12. Yes, I do remember the struggles when my children were small, but… they have yielded to the struggles of later childhood and adolescence.

    I put my foot down hard with my 12-yr old today; told her she wasn’t going to talk her way out of this one, or bend the rules, or go behind my back… it hurt.

      1. Sorry! I should know better, because I had older parents tell me the same thing when my kids were little. Was doing the same at… dang it, can’t remember her name now… but her description of her 5 yr-old daughter and 2-yr old boy just about match mine.

        Think of it this way… it’s commisery.

        No, it doesn’t get easier, but there are parents that will help along the way, I guarantee.

      2. I like that response! I think that’s what blogging is all about too, we can relate to each other and no we are not alone ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Thank you for your honesty! I love it when Mama’s post the good, the bad and the ugly! I have plenty of ugly moments (I’m still yet to reveal them!) Love your post and your blog- great work ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. You just did her the biggest favor of her life. She will learn that that her actions have consequences which increases her odds of having healthy relationships and genuine love. This is how parents make the world a better place for everyone.

Leave a Reply

