Posted in Random

Learning to become a Servant Leader and Other Random Shit I learned Today

Servant%20Leader%20Shutterstock_140710705

The day started off well with the 2yo in a semi good mood as he had awaken. The kids were watching a movie when I received the call! The call was one of my team members saying in no uncertain terms that they needed help. The acuity of the patients were high and due to multiple call ins throughout the hospital there was no help to send.

Well, that was my cue. Being the manager means that you are on call 24/7 and it was apparent they needed me. So I hoped in the shower and went to support my team! I let them use and abuse me. I took vital signs, wiped poopy bottoms ( hey, I do this at home too, it’s really not that different in an adult) and helped with charting. All was going well until one of my younger nurses told me how she loves learning new tricks from old nurses. Who the hell was she calling old! Geez talk about an ego buster. But today wasn’t about me was it? It was about supporting my team. Once things settled down and I was able to go home, the thanks that I had received made it all worth it. In their eyes when they thought no one cared, they knew that I did! I just can’t explain to you the feeling as a leader that you get when you provide true servant leadership!

So once finished I came home after some light shopping. I wanted to do more, but hey my feet hurt. Let me just tell you how much I loved coming home to play dough on my carpet! If I wasn’t so tired I am sure the hubby would have had to deal with a screaming wife because there is nothing worse than play dough stuck in your carpet!!!

Okay so enough of that rant. I also have decided that I really do not enjoy white wine. I tried the apothic white blend because I love the red blend so much but no thank you! I only wish I had bought a red blend as back up! Yuck! oh well, off to bed I will go!

As I sit here and type I stare at my buddy fast asleep on his dad. He woke up and wanted his daddy so I kindly obliged. Can’t have him waking up the girls now can we. We have always known that Buddy snored extremely loud for a 2yo but now I can see why. That baby can’t breathe. I am looking at him have a period of apnea in which it will wake him up for a second and then go back to sleep. This surprises me yet does not surprise me. I figured we would see an ENT due to the snoring but he has always been a great sleeper so thought maybe it was just the adenoids, but no that obviously is not true! It appears as if two tonsillectomy’s will be in our future in the upcoming year!

In just a few short days Christmas will be here. The day will be filled with magic and presents for some and grieving and sorrow for others. Some will pretend to be happy while inside being sad, depressed or otherwise unable to enjoy the holiday. Parents will stay up late assembling and wrapping those special gifts. After tomorrow I will be off for eight straight days! My focus has not always been on my family with recent work stressors so after tomorrow it will be right where it should be! I am going to focus on the family and will probable un pug beginning tomorrow night. So if you see a lack of posts over the next week that is why. Of course who knows what the week will bring. you may not miss me at all! I do after all get my best blogging done while the kids are asleep. So here is me saying that I may or may not see you before Christmas and if I happen to not see you then have a merry one from my family to yours!

Follow me on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/Diapersandtutus

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

6 thoughts on “Learning to become a Servant Leader and Other Random Shit I learned Today

    1. haha thanks! I thought I would take a break from my usual inspirational type posts 9 or at least I try to be inspirational) and give you a whole lot of random 🙂

Leave a Reply

