Posted in Ten Things of Thankful

Ten Things of Thankful #80

thankful

Christmas is over and the kids are in bed. The hubby is for that matter too! I sit here listening to Pandora on my new Blue tooth Wireless speaker feeling content and Thankful.  Sometimes the best medicine is time with family and that’s what we got! So my list starts there.

Family – First beginning with Christmas Eve with the kiddos, I love baking with them. Who am I kidding I baked and they decorated and ate. Then it was Christmas at my parents. I do not see them often enough so it was nice to just relax at their house. Next was Christmas at the in-laws.

Vacation Days – The fact that I have enough vacation days left over to take almost the entire week of Christmas is awesome! Some much-needed family time to rejuvenate and return to work on Monday!

Watching my kids enjoy simple things. Who would have thought the kids favorite gift from nana would be a tube of 99 cent bubbles!

wpid-20141226_161928.jpg

A gift from my Husband – I know it’s a material item but I am loving this speaker that allows me to play music from my phone and it sounds like a radio! There have been times where m husband who is a poor planner has not given me anything due to well his poor planning I guess. It was nice to know that he had thought of me as so much of our lives and relationship is and has become about the kids for obvious reasons.

We did not have the flu this Christmas – For two years in a row and despite getting the flu vaccine this house had been stricken with the flu right before Christmas. The year before last all five of us had it including my son who was two months old at the time! It was awful! So this year, thankfully we did not have the flu. Some minor sinus stuff but hey, we van definitely manage that!

Quiet time – Right now the house is quiet and this moment right here is what keeps me going when the chaos hits at 6am. Being a mom to three kids age 7 and under is stressful and hard. There is never any alone time, not even to take a shower so for someone who craves alone time, that is a lot to handle.

We didn’t kill Santa – Santa was almost ruined for 5yo this year as she walked in on us wrapping presents on Christmas Eve, Thankfully she forgot about it the next morning when she opened her gifts! Oh and the mother in law wrote from Santa mom on some of my gifts and 7yo asked me why she wrote that, I just told her that nana was being silly and she dropped the subject. I need to remind nana that a certain someone can read now.

Nice weather – I live near a beach so that means it’s flip-flops all year round! It was actually hot on Christmas but today it was perfect! nice cool weather but not too cool!

My 7yo love of reading – She loves to read and has even walked in to school with her nose in a book before, so naturally we got her some chapter books to read for Christmas! we even got her a book light to read in the dark and she loves it. The last two nights we have read the Critter Club and she has asked for more of those books. There is just something so special about reading to your children and I love every minute of it!

Kindness – my oldest suddenly asked me who gives presents to Santa one day and I said Mrs. Claus I guess. Being the sweetheart that she is, she decided to make a gift for Santa. It sat next to his milk and cookies and a sense of pride came over me. Maybe I am not screwing up my kids after all!

So there it is!  Ten things of thankful Holiday edition. Enjoy your week, hold each other close and until the next year comes remember to give Thanks!

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

27 thoughts on “Ten Things of Thankful #80

  1. It doesn’t sound like you’re screwing up your kids 🙂 Not more than anyone does, anyway 🙂 That was such a sweet thought for Santa 🙂

    Glad your husband planned, and glad you got time off to spend with your family. That’s brilliant 🙂

  2. Bubbles are always magical. I have found they become a different kind of magical for adults. Watching kids enjoy them.

    ACK!!!!! on walking in on presents and Santa almost being killed. Mine is nine and I am dreading that day.

    1. Bubbles are indeed magical! My oldest is 7 and am hoping that we have a few.more years of Santa withbher! She is so smart though I am thinking she will figure it out earlier rather than later 😦

  3. I live near a beach so that means it’s flip-flops all year round! It was actually hot on Christmas
    …now you’re just being cruel! lol (though I can’t complain, the weather so far this winter in southern New England is totally not arctically-awful. No snow yet!

  4. I’m so glad your family was able to have a flu-free Christmas. My family was battling illness all week, including my 5 year old who woke up Christmas morning with a fever. It isn’t much fun at all.
    I must admit, I’m a bit jealous of the beach and warmth all year…
    It is absolutely wonderful when the switch flips and a child learns to read on his own. Let me know if you need any recommendations for your daughter.

    1. Oh I hope your family is on the mend. I know how awful that is to be sick on Christmas! My daughter loves animal books so any recommendations I will take 🙂

  5. I GOT A BLUE TOOTH SPEAKER SO I CAN LISTEN TO PANDORA, TOO! My husband said he was very tempted to give it to me early, as I spent the week before Christmas listening with just my phone while I baked and wrapped and stuff, but it was worth the wait. Rocked out to 80s music on it while I took down the decorations.
    Flu-free is definitely something to be thankful for!
    Envious of the flip flop thing. I noticed from the picture of your daughter with the bubbles that your weather is slightly different than ours!
    Sounds like you are doing just fine raising those kiddos with values 🙂

    1. Isn’t it the coolest thing! I didn’t know what I was missing without that speaker! Sometimes I am envious of snow but only briefly because I hate the cold 😉

  6. I used to love to read the book, Five Minutes Peace, to my children. The poor mama elephant (or was she a hippo?) just wanted 5 minutes of peace, but no matter where she went, her children followed. It’s nice you get quiet time in the morning hours–my kids were early risers, so my quiet time came at night, when I was already exhausted! Being a mom is hard work, but, of course, is so worth it!

  7. I love the one about how you didn’t have the flu. That’s a great one!
    A gift from your hubby that makes your day happy is awesome.
    Hooray for young readers! My Kidzilla (6 1/2) has always loved books. Now that she’s a full-blown reader, a whole new world opens for her and for us together. Keep that little one reading! Our book time together is some of the most special time in our day.

Leave a Reply

