Posted in mommyhood

The year we almost ruined Santa

wpid-2014-12-25_12.02.12.jpg Today as my children peacefully play with their nice shiny new toys, I think about my parents and how I never gave them enough credit! This shit is hard. Christmas eve was wonderful and amazing as always. We baked cookies, and read stories. Our tradition is that we never leave the house on Christmas Eve and just have family time.

That wasn’t the hard part though. It was the trying to get my very excited kids to go to sleep. Oh my, that was awful! As a kid I remember being so anxious that we would awaken at 3 am to open presents and my parents would actually let us! Mini me was the hardest to get to sleep and kept waking up the other kids.

Once  we thought she had finally drifted off to sleep .  we started wrapping gifts.  It was 10pm after all, surely she had fallen asleep. Well when we heard her coming through the kitchen that my husband had barricaded off. Yes we were that desperate to get things assembled and get some sleep, so we barricaded all entrances, or so we thought. We hear Mini me say, I seen the box to the Calico Critter tree house I wanted! Well Shit, that was her Santa present.

What did we do you ask? We just put that baby back to bed without saying a word. I thought this is it! this is the year we ruin Santa for our babies! At 5yo she is smart and can figure that one out. Finally at 11pm she was sound asleep and we could continue. The husband opened Buddy’s city skyways and it was in about fifty pieces. I just simply looked at him and said have fun! WE finished wrapping and then I went off to bed somewhere around midnight. The hubby up later assembling that toy!

The next morning at 6am I hear the excited voices say mommy it’s morning! Santa Came!!! Thank the freaking lord we didn’t ruin Santa for her! She must have forgotten all about what she had seen!  We unwrapped gifts and the kids smiled at what they had received. It never ceases to amaze me the hings that little ones are grateful for. We didn’t spend a ton of money and they each got one 30 dollar gift with the rest costing no more than ten dollars. They Loved all of them and were so happy to get them! It makes me feel silly for ever worrying that it wasn’t enough!  Sassy even went to say it was the Best Christmas ever! I love these little ones so much!wpid-2014-12-26_09.02.43.jpg

So here I am thankful for all the work my parents put in to Christmas eve each year. You never truly understand what a parent goes through until you have experienced it yourself. So to my parents, thank you for loving us enough to let us open gifts at 3am, keeping the magic alive and always making us feel like we were rich even when we weren’t. We were rich in Love and happiness and that is truly what Christmas is about!

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

10 thoughts on “The year we almost ruined Santa

  1. First I am a little jelly of the Calico Critters 😉 I love those things!! I can’t wait until Avery is old enough to play with them. I almost bought some just so I could have them ready for her when she is old enough. Love that you stay home on Christmas Eve and spend the day together. We did kinda the same thing on Christmas day this year and it was wonderful 🙂

    1. lol! She actually got the woodeez brand which is essentially a cheaper version of calico critters but they look so similar to the calico critters I just don’t correct them. I found the tree house at target and hey it was 30 dollars versus the 100 dollar calico one and she loves it! We have two Christmases on Christmas day and I wish we could just stay home on Christmas but the one year I tried that my wise oldest said wait, we have to go to nana’s and then meemaws so that was a no go! So staying home on Christmas eve I, we always get invites by family and friends on Christmas eve but I just politely decline, it’ our special day 🙂 I am glad that you were able to stay home on Christmas Day, there is just something so special about saying no matter what on this day we are together 🙂

  2. Thanks for sharing. I am glad you didn’t ruin santa. I am excited for my daughter to “know” about santa, but at the same time, I do not know how we will keep from ruining santa every year!

  3. My little mouse is at the point where she is not sure what to believe. She is 6 and the older kids have all told her that Santa does not exists, but she desperately still wants to believe. The joy of five children.

Leave a Reply

