Posted in Random

Dear Target…we need to break up!

wpid-breakup1.jpeg

I can’t tell you exactly when my love affair with Target began, but what I can tell you is that I have become obsessed. Every day finding some excuse to go. We need this or ran out of that. It doesn’t help that the store of my heart’s desire is literally three minutes from my house! I could seriously walk there. That is how close there is. I honestly didn’t realize just how bad my addiction was until just a few days ago!

Deciding to figure out why our finances has been so poor lately I used a website to help show me where we spend our money and help us budget! The results were astounding! Shopping! Once you take away the groceries it’s all Target shopping. So Target I am sorry but we need to break up. I wrote you this letter because I know that we are both in need of closure right now!

Dear Target,

It was love at first sight you and I. Once I locked my eyes on that red-eye of yours I knew that you were the one. Your awesome clothes and fashionable children’s clothing just made me want you even more. You had me at hello! When your prices increased I stayed thinking that this would be just a rough patch that we were going through. Every couple has their hard times right? When you gave me a red debit card to save five percent with each purchase I said yes please!

Alas, our time together has to end. You see I am incapable of going in to your lovely doors without spending less than 100 dollars.  Your aisles are so spacious and strategically placed! How did you know I wanted these flannel sheets! I do not know how to stop at buying just what I need. So it’s only fair to make a clean break! We must do it now before anyone gets hurt. Mainly my checking account.

Somewhere along the line I had convinced myself that I could only get the items I need at your fine facilities, but this is simply not true. Wal-Mart has baby wipes and  they have pull ups too! It may not be the nicest of places, and have some  scary people there. But this is the precise reason that I do not spend too much money. I’m just too damn scared of the people who clearly haven’t showered and there was this one time that a possible drug deal was going down. I can’t be sure as I was afraid to stare too long. So you see, this is a much better option for me. I get in, get out and nobody gets hurt.

Shh…It’s not you it’s me. I just can’t stop so Please love me enough to let me go! I know, I know but even if you give me 30% off, I just can’t risk getting sucked back in. Please respect my decision. You will always hold a special place in my heart, but for now we say goodbye.

Love,

Your loyal Customer April

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

29 thoughts on “Dear Target…we need to break up!

  1. Ha! I love it.

    I left Walmart for Target. I was slumming it with Walmart anyway, and Target was a step up. But alas, I fear I too may need to break up with Tar-jay. But I won’t go back to Wal-mart. It got fat and dirty.

  2. My kid loves the pretzels in the little eatery in target, otherwise I don’t really go there. The one time I took my mom, they had that big scam where everyone that used there debit card had to get new ones. That was fun. 🙂

    1. Oh no! That was a terrible time! We didn’t have to get new card but have been watching my bank account religiously. Good for you for not getting sucked in to target 🙂

  3. Omg did i write this post?!?! This is my life right here!!! What makes it worse is mine is a super target so i justify it by saying that i need some groceries…….then cleaning stuff:…then $20 of stuff from the $1 section….. Ohhhhhh but i have a cartwheel coupon for … *sigh*
    I clearly need to break up with Target too… I wonder if i can go 6 months without spending my money in Target

  4. Maybe you can always make a list and stick to it ? Or have a time limit, like you cannot spend more then 10 minutes inside? There is no Target in Hungary, but I did like it when I lived in the USA 🙂 Happy new year to you and your family! 🙂 xoxo Fanni

  5. My prescriptions are all at Target, so I have finally made myself go in without using a basket. Sure, I can still pile things in my arms, but it is a lot less than damage than a cart can do 🙂

  6. I love it!!! I do not think I could handle living that close to Target. So glad it takes me 20 minutes to get there or I would be in serious trouble. Good luck!!!

  7. So cute! Yes, one time I actually manged to budget, and I was shocked by the results. We did one month of no Target or Walmart runs, and we saved $1,000. I called it our Target fast. Who can’t relate to the shopping problem!?

Leave a Reply

