Posted in Baby Daddy

The Year of more cuddles

wpid-img_8765.jpg.jpgIt’s January 1st year 2015 and we will all still write 2014 until we get used to writing the new year. Most  have spent the end of last year reflecting on the past and hoping for the future. Everyone of us face different circumstances that are unique to us. Whether it be ending a marriage or finding a new love. Whether being ill and hoping for a cure, we all have different hopes and dreams.

Here is the thing. We do not get a clean slate over night, so I encourage you to make the most of today. No matter what your circumstances may be, today is all we have. Tomorrow is not guaranteed.

Last year I lost a friend who was only ten years my senior. He had cancer for the second time in his life and the first time being when he was sixteen. It doesn’t seem fair when you think about it. To have cancer once survive it then to get it again and it be so advanced that you lose that battle in less than six months.

Naturally after a loss like that you say, I will live every moment to the fullest. For awhile you do, but then every day life steps in and we forget. I know I did.

Last night at around 10pm the husband and I went to bed. Yeah I know party animals right? He tried to cuddle and in my exhaustion I said no, move over and the other usual things I say because for one I am not a cuddler. I also just knew that mini me would come in our room as she does every night, especially with the booming fireworks that were going off in my neighborhood. I am surprised all three kids did not wake up. Of course she did and so I spent the evening cuddling my child or her kicking, punching and rolling over me all night.

This morning when I had awaken it had hit me. What’s wrong with this picture. The man who I should want to be around more than anything and I push him away.  I will give cuddles selflessly to my children but not the man who helped me create them. I am not living life as if there were no tomorrow.

This year my goal is to try to live by this philosophy and truly live. Last year like many I think I purely existed. Trying to Survive the day more than anything and there is much more to life than that! So tonight if my husband is not to tired I will try to cuddle with him. He might die of shear shock but I will deal with that if it comes down to it. Our eleven year anniversary is coming up in march and this is the year to move past existing and into living!

No matter your circumstances this year I hope is that you love like there is n tomorrow, live to thrive and not survive hope for a future but plan for only today! Today is all we have because tomorrow is not a guarantee! Happy New Year from my family to yours!

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

19 thoughts on “The Year of more cuddles

  1. yes losing someone wakes us up with a jolt. Even if you forget I do think it effects you and not necessarily all bad. I hope you have a wonderful new year. I like the way you are thinking, none of us are perfect, but trying to be is good.

  2. I love a little cuddle before sleep, but then I have to roll over and get comfy to sleep!! I hope you manage to cuddle hubby more but also enjoy it, try not to make it become a chore 🙂

  3. I love this goal! I am in the same boat as you. Your post really got me thinking how very important it is to try and make time with our Hubby’s too! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

