Posted in Ten Things of Thankful

Thankful – New Years Edition

thankful

Every now and then you meet a group of people who you just really click with. Sometimes in person and in this case in the blogosphere! These ladies have provided me with more support and understanding than I have ever imagined. My first Thankful is to all of the members of Ten Things of Thankful! When a wrote my first post roughly one month ago you sent me more words of encouragement and welcomed me with open arms. Thank you to each and every one of you! Thankful #1

New years was nice a quiet and we attempted to go to sleep at 10pm. But the neighbors and their fireworks decided a little different. I am Thankful that the booming rockets that seemed to plow above my very own home did not wake my children! Thankful #2

We had the sister in Law and her family over to watch football and enjoy dinner. I love how close my kids are with their cousin and watching them all play together truly puts a smile on my face. Family is important and so very often we take them for granted. Thankful #3

The last two weeks have been spent at home and with my kids. At least for the most part! I am so thankful  for the time off to just enjoy the Holidays and my children. Every moment has not been perfect and I do not know what is, but I have been relaxed with very few calls from work and we  have just enjoyed time together. Thankful #4

The weather has been quite dreary during this time off and the kids were getting a little stir crazy! So I am Thankful for a very cheap children’s museum that we were able enjoy yesterday! Buddy loved the telescope and said he was searching for the moon while Sassy and mini me enjoyed the forts and houses. They also liked pretending to be Indians  cooking fish on an open fire!  A nice place to entertain the kids on rainy days – Thankful #5wpid-20150102_121212.jpg

This morning I got what was probable the equivalent to a birthday, anniversary and valentine’s present from the kids! They slept in until 8:30am! No seriously I thought I was in heaven! These last couple of weeks has allowed me to catch up on some much-needed sleep and just feel rested and normal! Thankful #6

I have even been able to catch up on some reading. I started a book about a month ago and now finally am more than halfway through! I love to read and just have not had the time so this is something to be thankful for! Thankful #7

I just finished watching Courageous while the house is asleep and what a tear jerker! I am grateful for the reminder to be present and there for my children. These moments are short-lived so reminder’s are always good! Thankful #8

Although it’s nice to have time off from work it is also nice to have a job that I want to get back to! last week one of my nurses smiled and told me that sometimes they do not feel like they are making a difference but most recently she feels like she is making a difference! It’s such a good feeling as a Nurse Leader to hear your team with a sense of satisfaction with what they are doing! Thankful #9

Quiet time is always a good thing and is lettime sit here and write this very post! As an introvert I need and crave that alone time but find it a rarity as a mom of three! Quiet time is awesome! Thankful #10

 

 

 

 

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

20 thoughts on “Thankful – New Years Edition

  1. While I certainly agree with number 1 (lol!! hey!! he said Number 1)…. I must… (excuse me, I left my chainsaw running…hold on) there, better! While certainly at first glance, the demographic ( “Hey!! shut the hell up out there!! can’t you see I’m trying to type!!…I don’t care if the ‘stripper-gram’ is at the front door…leave me alone!!!”) would appear predominately femalistic here, speaking on behalf of the Y Chrome contingency….I am glad to have you at the TToT. (it is the best of all bloghops… “yeah!! and we’ll crush anyone who disagrees!!”)

    lol

    oh yeah!!

    FRIST!

    1. Lol! I only used she because the females that comment on my post! Now I must use he as well now go open the door for that stripper, she’s probably getting cold 😉

  2. I laughed with your “two weeks off with the kids” thankful comment re: not every moment being perfect. No kidding – there were moments I wanted to scream – but so very worth it! And certainly a lot more snuggle time that usual.

    Yay for reading and time alone. Introverts unite (independently and on our own, of course).

    It sounds like you had a lovely holiday.

    1. Lol I know right! Stating home with the kids is hard but the fact that I work full time I think helps me appreciate those moments when I can stay home even more. Wanting to scream and all 😉 introverts unite! I like it as long as I get some alone time in between 😉

      1. Every now and then I get a week off with the kids to align with my daycare providers schedule and I always look forward to them – and they are great – but very tiring. Among other things, I think it gives me a greater appreciation for those who stay home full time with their kids 🙂

        Glad you had a good time with them! Happy back to work!

  3. I’ve been (mostly) off with my son for the past two weeks as well and um yeah. There have been days… but really, it has been nice spending so much time with him and doing fun things together. The children’s museum you went to sounds great!! Happy 2015!

  4. Yup, I agree with the whole home with kid thing – I’ve loved every second of having my Daughter home for the last two weeks and I’m pretty excited about her going back to school, too. I do love my alone time – need that time! But we are a house full of introverts, really, so every now and then we do just fine to kind of be alone near one another and it works.
    Having a job to go to that you love and makes you feel appreciated is wonderful! I left a job this year because it was anything but and I’m so much happier. Have a great time back to work!
    And HOORAY for the TToT (girls and boys alike)! 😀

    1. Lol yes! Hooray for the girls and boys! Let’s not forget them! Good for you for leaving a job you disliked! Most people do not have the courage to take a leap like that 🙂

  5. Number one is like ten things of thankful all in one…..But
    also

    I was seriously annoyed with neighbors letting off fireworks as well. It woke us up but luckily we were able to go back to sleep.

    mmm quiet time

  6. I love when Holidays obey and play nice the whole time. Glad you able to find a little quiet along with the adventure.

  7. I think it’s harder to get back to school after Christmas break than it is after summer break! Glad you had such a lovely time with your kids. The museum sounds like a great way to spend time together! And I think it’s wonderful when cousins are friends! My kids have always had such a good time with their cousins, even though they only see them a few times a year.

    1. Aww, thankfully my kids get to see their cousins often and ges it is so hard after Christmas Break! Christmas is just so relaxing and I think by the time summer ends we are just ready!

Leave a Reply

