Posted in Ten Things of Thankful

TTOT – Sick home edition

thankful

I can definitely tell that school is back in session! WE have all fallen ill this week and was not sure if I would be able to get this post up this week! Alas the kids are playing, some fevers have broken and I might just make it!

This week has been just getting back in to the routine of things after two weeks off! I am thankful that we made it to school and work on time! Hey, sometimes you are just happy with that, it’s the small things that count right?

Mini me (5yo) had her ENT consult this week and we decided surgery was best! My oldest daughter had her tonsils taken out and it was a horrifying experience which is partly why we have waited so long, but this year has been non stop strep throat and tonsillitis so it has been time. This child has lived on antibiotics this past year, so I even though I am a little scared I am thankful for an end in sight.

After the appointment mini me and I decided to have dinner at Cracker Barrel. We laughed and had some quality mommy daughter time. We had conversations about Daddy’s upcoming birthday and I asked her how old she thought she would be. Her response was daddy is turning 13 and mommy is 17! Did she seriously just make me older than her father! Thankful for great conversation with my daughter even if she bruised the ego a little!

The t-shirts I had made for my team have finally arrived! They look so awesome and I can’t wait to see their faces as I give them their Christmas presents. Yeah there was a delay in production but well worth it! My neuro science unit will be proud to wear these shirts!

Despite Buddy (2yo) having high fever and being ill, he has still maintained his fun-loving sense of humor! Kids are awesome that way huh? I am just so thankful that he seems to be himself despite being sick!

My car will be paid off next month!!! I think that is enough for ten thankfuls!!!! One more payment and the maybe we can fix some stuff around the house that is in major need! I’m not counting my chickens on that one just yet, but nonetheless I am thankful for only one more car payment!

School is back in session for me too, which means that I am one semester closer to getting my BSN. I have my associate’s degree but in this day and age you really need to head for the BSN route. I am thankful for a job that not only supports my decision to go back to school financially but also encourages it!

With an upcoming surgery a little less than two weeks to be exact I am thankful for my flex spending card. Until las year I had not fully understood what it was and only regret not having one sooner.  It takes the financial stress of having major surgery so that you are able to worry about your loved one versus how am I going to pay for this.

We were planning on the Hubby’s Birthday dinner tonight while having family over, but had to cancel due to the obvious. I m thankful that he is very low maintenance and understand and we will have a very simple birthday dinner with just the five of us!

With being offline for essentially five days it is easy to feel discouraged. I am thankful for the wordpress community an that they are right here waiting for me once I return! Five days has felt like an eternity to me and I have some reading to catch up on!

 

 

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

28 thoughts on “TTOT – Sick home edition

  1. Flex spending accounts are the bomb diggity. Once I “got” what they did, I have never been without one.

    Hope you continue on the road to recovery. ((Hugs))

    1. thanks! I know right!!! I cannot believe that I have not done this sooner! We have had surgeries in the past and had to scrape to pay for them etc. so now I will never go without one!

    1. lol it is super busy! The girls are in Ballet on Wednesdays so that’s an extra layer! But never a dull moment for sure 🙂 Thank for reading and commenting 🙂

      1. Aww how cute. My son wants to play football this upcoming fall and i’d like to get my daughter in dance as well!
        You’re welcome! I enjoy reading your blog. 🙂

  2. Ah yes the kid came home wednesday sniffling. I immediately got some kombucha for me and made the sign of the cross in her direction. So far it has worked.Plus giving her elderberry and zinc.
    Car being paid off is huge. We always get close and then something happens. This last time we were like three months away from paying it off.

    1. yea We paid off my husband’s car and then had to take out loan to pay for taxes! Last year was the first time we actually owed money, which I wouldn’t mind if we didn’t live pay check to pay check!

  3. Poor mini me. Hopefully the surgery will bring some relief from all of the sore throats.
    Happy birthday to your husband!

    1. Thank you! I am sure hoping it will provide some relief, My oldest had hers taken out at a much younger age and she rarely get sick so there is that at least!

  4. Your little one’s surgery will be just fine. Kidzilla had a year like that – nonstop ear infections, colds, sore throats, the works. Finally the ENT decided it was time for ear tubes. She was only nine months old and I thought I would die letting them take her away for the surgery. It took minutes – literally – and she has barely had a sniffle almost six years later. Good luck – sending good thoughts your way!
    Have a great week!

    1. Thank you! yeah my son was eight months old when he got his tubes and I thought I was going to die, but he lived on antibiotics the first seven months of his life an finally understood why he did not like to take baths! The water was hurting that poor baby’s ears and after the tubes he loved them!

  5. Oh my feel better! Tough decision ‘re surgery but sounds like everyone is sure its necessary so you canfeel ssecure in that. Happy birthday to hubs. Maybe your daughter just thought you were more mature!

  6. Aw I’m sorry you’ve all been ill! I hope this week sees everyone improving more and more. The surgery sounds like a good option – that’s clearly been a rough year on all of you!

    Sending you wishes for good health for a time, and space to gather yourself together again. GREAT news about the car payment and the card 🙂

  7. I have to admit I’m always apprehensive about this time of year. And with good reason: yet again I’m starting my second week back with a cold that the kids seem to have picked up on their return to school/nursery last week. Sniff. Cough. Rats.

  8. Good for you for being so close to your BSN…You are in the home stretch! I spent four years going through a doctoral program in psychology and I know how hard it is juggling school and a family. Yes, it is definitely cold and flu season and I worry so much about my Sam! Not that I don’t worry about my other 4, but with his compromised immune system and lung issues…I worry more than the norm! Wow, they don’t take out tonsils much anymore. To provide encouragement, Our neighbor had it done last year, however; and his health has much improved! I hope the surgery goes well April.

    1. They really do not! I had to beg for that consult and am glad I did! I am sure the surgery will be fine but it’s hard when it’s your kid and all! even though I am a nurse all that goes out the window when it is your child lol! Thanks for your comment your kind words help 🙂

  9. Hope the surgery goes well. We’ve had one surgery with my eldest and it went just fine, but it’s always stressful.

    Sorry to hear you’ve been dealing with some sickness at your place – but glad to hear you are coming out of it and that the car is almost paid off !!! That is MANY thankfuls indeed!

Leave a Reply

