Posted in mommyhood

Nurse Mommy!

 

wpid-52a58f6d87f2e8b2b1267beb2253e74e.jpgIt’s post op day 1 from mini me’s tonsillectomy. She is doing great but not eating much!  She was a champ going in to surgery and let me tell you, quite hilarious on those sedative’s. I swear she got a glimpse of her college years on that stuff!

Everyone kept telling me how pretty she was. Why thank you the hubby and I think so and since she looks mostly like me, well then I will go ahead and take full credit for that one!

It’s really hard seeking services at your place of business. Everyone stopping by asking what is going on etc. I know they were all concerned but can’t they see I was trying to read a book! I mean really nothing says leave me alone like my nose in a book! Just saying!

The surgery did not take very long and I was able to go see my baby! So calm and stoic as she normally is, I just scooped that baby up and held her tight! She looked at me, looked at her i.v. and for a while she just layed there.

While cuddling my sweetheart I received the ultimate compliment! A nurse who used to work with me, and was helping take care of us said ” She is such a good mom, I took care of her son when he was here!”  Her children are so good and she is a good nurse too!” To tell you I held back the tears that wanted to flow like a river dam would be an understatement! By far one of the best compliments that I have had in a while!

Naturally I can’t take a compliment so I said take a few of them home and you will change your mind! As if on cue, Mini me began to really wake up and noticed that I.V. in her arm! World War 3 coming at you people! This child went from angelic to the spawn of Satan in less than sixty seconds flat! Thrashing around, pulling out her I.V. I was all I could do to keep her in my arms! I just looked at the nurse and said told ya!

It really wasn’t her fault though, anesthesia does weird things to people and I’m just glad we made it through surgery intact! The ride home was less than fun! That child ripped off her seat belt, throwing things at me, yelling and I know the yelling had to hurt her throat. What was I to do? Keep driving and pray she stops and for no accidents. I certainly wasn’t going to spank her. Once home we relaxed and rested. All was well again!

“Ice cream is more yummy than cupcakes!” Yes, the perks of a tonsillectomy is all you can eat ice cream and I am happy to oblige! She has been in quite a bit of pain, but we are taking care of that with some awesome narcotics. Although I am hoping to decrease those soon as I do not want her to take too much. Hopefully tomorrow we can alternate with Tylenol, but we will see! I have had to force feed her water through a syringe today.

side note: I realize the picture has nothing to deal with the topic above, but you just have to like it or not! I did take one picture of her in her drugged induce bliss but just can’t bring myself to place it on the blog here! Besides, I’m not blogging to traumatize her 😉

 

If you like this post then check me out on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/Diapersandtutus

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

8 thoughts on “Nurse Mommy!

  1. Glad to hear things went ok! I know they don’t remove tonsils frequently! As you know, our family has been through many operations and procedures and it is such a huge relief when our little ones do so well! Hope things continue to progress well April.
    XO
    Diane

    1. Thanks Diane! It was such a relief when the surgeon came out looking for me! Huge smile on his face and all! She is now running and playing so here is to hoping this progress continues 🙂

  2. Regarding the seeking services at your place of employment, my wife is a nurse and has experienced similar situations both with our kids and more recently with a surgery and subsequent stay in the hospital. I went to visit her at lunch one day only to encounter a small room (private room at least, a perk of being an employee) filled with her co-workers eating their lunches from the cafeteria.

Leave a Reply

