Posted in mommyhood

Wearing my Every Day mom Badge Proud

badge
I have been a proud every day mom since 2007!

 

There are two words that irritate me like no other. Two words that when people say them are actually giving a compliment, but I find obnoxious. Of course I do not tell the people it offends me, but just smile and say thank you! Those words are simple and meant to put you on the mother of all pedestals! What are they you ask? Super MOM! Seriously I do not think anyone can achieve that fantasy pinnacle of motherhood. It simply just does not exist.

I have been trying to write this post for some time but simply could not find the words. Today while driving in my car, I found them or they found me that is. Being a mom to three very young children, I have often been called Super mom.  I like to bake cakes and almost always make my kid’s Birthday cakes and this is often when I an referred to  the incredible Super Mom. Even though the commenter intends it as a compliment, it is something I take offense to. I am just an everyday mom.

We are all moms who work hard and struggle to get through the day. Whether you work full-time or stay home with the kids, we all face the same challenges.  Our days become a game of Survival of the fittest and one that only a mom can win. Not even a dad is strong enough to handle this kind of strength. Super strength implies a strength that is short-lived and an act of adrenaline, but every day strength well that is quite the achievement.

We are every day moms who wear our Super mom badge underneath our left chest inside of our soul.  The badge does not contain a button or red letter S, but a picture of our children’s faces carried inside our hearts.

If you have stood in your living room with a mess that could only equate to the damage of a category five hurricane and did not run and cry but stood strong, rallied the troops and took care of business, then you my friend have the kind of strength that only an Every day mom has!

If you have ever been ill but had to suck it up, take car of the kids, clean the house, make breakfast and make drop offs to school despite feeling like poo, then rock on sister! You are an Everyday mom!

Every  time you kiss a scraped knee, wipe away tears and say it will be okay your  mom cape flies high.  Your kisses provide the  healing touch that only the strongest of every day mom’s have!

Remember the times that you your toddler insisted on  dressing herself?  The one day that you let her go into public wearing nothing but a bathing suit because she picked it out and hey, who cares anyway?  The moment that you say Who the Hell cares if people judge me, she is an independent child, and she can wear it if she wants to! You just wore that Mom badge proud! Keep wearing it momma! You are doing awesome!

On the day that you cut his sandwich into the shape of a dinosaur just because and  he was bragging to his friend about his awesome mom! that is the best kind of super mom! Better yet, what about every day when you make his sandwich with only peanut butter and no crust because that’s how he likes it? That’s an awesome every day mom right there!

We cannot be  Super Moms because we do what we do every day!  Because of the love we have for our children we fight off the exhaustion, read that book for the hundredth time today, watch frozen for the thousandth time this year, and buy the stupid CD with all of the music! because hey, we just need to hear let it go one more time!

Motherhood  is stressful , challenging  and a beautiful disaster. It is most certainly not for the weak. We carry our super strength every day which means it really can’t be super can it?When our children our ill it is mommy they want. We never get a sick day and if we are lucky we get just five minutes to ourselves. I mean for those of us who are really lucky that is! I had to hide from my kids to read a book, so hey sometimes those five minutes are stolen, but you get the idea.

We fight monsters with the same intensity as we do our kids cough. We do not run from the messy, in fact we welcome it. We can have tea parties while also playing dragons.  We clean up and fold all while reading that special book. We are not Super mom’s but Every day moms! I don’t know about you but I wear my every day mom badge proud!

The next time you think that your all is not enough, then remember that your child only has one mom! You were picked just for him, and wear that badge proud! You are awesome! Can I get a shout our for us every day moms out there!

 

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

23 thoughts on “Wearing my Every Day mom Badge Proud

  1. Well said. And I totally understand the concept of being offended or hurt when someone gives you what they think is a compliment. My husband struggled through debilitating depression for most of the years our kids were growing up. Fairly often friends who knew the whole story told me how impressed they were with how strong I was. They didn’t know how much those words broke my heart. I didn’t feel strong at all. I felt like a wreck most of the time and was hanging on by my fingernails. It was kind of like those words made me feel guilty for not handling the situation better than I was. And also kind of like it minimized the real crap I was living with. Sigh.

    1. Uggh that is so frustrating! I can only imagine what you went through and agree that unintentionally they minimized what you had to deal with. I think sometimes people just do not know what to say and so they come up with things like I don’t know how you do it or you are so strong, in reality you just want someone to let you cry and not be so strong.

      1. That’s exactly it! I always knew people were just trying to be supportive, but my emotions were so raw that it hit me the wrong way.

    1. i’m glad you can enjoyed it! you did it the only way you know h, and with the best strength imaginable, because you are a mom and you love your children 🙂

  2. Oh that’s just so nice to read! After spending a week with my two little girls, with my husband away and me being sick – this post definitely resonates with me! Moms’re awesome :)))

  3. Great post! I agree, all moms are “super-moms” in our own ways and we all have our own battles & struggles. Working, stay-at-home, married, single, divorced = we all have the huge responsibility of raising considerate, compassionate, happy, smart children – just the thought of it is exhausting!

  4. I get this a lot because I’m out there in the world blogging about motherhood, doing activities with my son, doing the motherhood thing publicly,etc. But the title Super Mom makes me so uncomfortable because, while in some moments I am certainly doing things right, others I am 100% hanging on by a thread, counting down the minutes til my husband gets home from work and can relieve me of my mom duty for 5 minutes. I don’t know when motherhood became so black and white: either you’re a Super Mom or a Bad Mom and there’s no middle ground. Well, I think I definitely fall into that gray area and I’m so happy to hear someone else acknowledge that it exists. Thanks for sharing this!

  5. I really needs those sentences in the last paragraph. I have been suffering from depression and anxiety and feel like I can get everything done that a “good” mother gets done. In my kids eyes though they think I’m amazing and that’s what counts. I need to let go of guilt and realize I am enough.

    1. I am so glad this spoke to you! You re doing an amazing job and we often put so much pressure on ourselves! Sometimes surviving the day is the best that we can do, and guess what it’s enough 🙂

Leave a Reply

