Posted in Ten Things of Thankful

TTOT – Remember the starfish?

wpid-starfish-story-websize.jpgIt’s 5am and here I sit in the dark, with one child asleep on the recliner, one in my bed and only one in his actual bed. To be fair his bed is still a crib so he really has no choice, he can’t get out of it. After about five times of mini me’s little feet finding their way to my butt crack I decided enough was enough and got up! At least I wasn’t being used as her human blanket like the night before. That was a rough one. Oh the joys!

My situation hasn’t changed yet. Still waiting on some interviews. Just call me a sitting duck! I recently marked a couple of posts private because I soon realized that if you google me, then you can find my blog eventually and do not want any potential employers to find my whining and rants on the subject.  But people don’t do that you say, yeah they do. I have!

Okay so enough about me and on to the Thankfuls… It’s going to be a little harder this week but here goes.

I don’t have many close friend and with my current feelings of isolation I am finding out that my best friend is my only true friend. So for this week I am thankful for a best friend who will call me, ask who she needs to hunt down and would help me hide a body without any questions at all! Metaphorically people! Stay with me, we ain’t killing nobody.

Believe it or not, the one person who is the least touchy feely and dislikes hugging has been thankful for hugs. Hugs actually help. Yep, I want to vomit as I write  that but it’s true. Yes I flipped out on a new coworker many years ago who hugged me within minutes of meeting. so this is a hard pill to swallow.

Have you ever read the Star fish story? As I read this story I could not help but feel a calmness over me. The story in a nutshell is a little boy trying to save the starfish washed ashore. AN old man asks why he is doing what he is doing as he cannot save them all! That sweet little boy smiles, picks up a starfish and throws it in the water, then says ” I made a difference to that one!” This symbolizes my career at the moment. I know I made a difference to some, maybe not all, but if my leadership meant something to a small few, then I am a happy person and did what I came to do!

Mini me is feeling much better after surgery! She has eaten us out of house and home the last two days and that is an amazing sight! She will be ready to return to school on Monday and that makes me happy! I have enjoyed all the cuddles and nurturing but now that she is feeling better its’ back to cranky and whiny and I need a break.

Last weekend I took Buddy to the park and it was so much fun to have some one on one time with him! He wasn’t happy when it was time to leave, but it was windy so we didn’t get to stay too long.

Benadryl… Yeah I know that is a weird one, but I have been having trouble sleeping so I am thankful that Benadryl has helped. There was a couple of nights I would have never went to sleep without it.

All of my t.v. shows have returned so what’s not to be thankful about that!

Family and good food! We have had a couple of birthdays this month so there has been a couple of gatherings and it’s always nice to spend time together, laugh, eat good food and take your mind off things!

Recently I have discovered some ne music that I like. Sami Davis and Ed Sheeran. Both amazing voices in different ways. I have rather enjoyed listening to them on Pandora the last few days!

I have said it once and I will say it again! I am Thankful for all of the blogging community for accepting me and lifting me up when I feel down, making me laugh with your stories, and feeling as though you are part of my extended family!

 

 

 

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

19 thoughts on “TTOT – Remember the starfish?

  1. It is a stressful time for you and I wish you well in your employment search. Those sayings, “everything happens for a reason” and “one door shuts, another opens.” come to mind. Take care of YOU

  2. Now that’s what I call early morning blogging! Best of luck on the job hunt!!! Good call on being careful about the blogging. If my blog were under my full name, I’d probably never get hired again, thanks to TMI. ha!

    1. lol I can thank the feet up my butt crack for the early morning wake up! My blog actually isn’t under my full name, but silly me my bloglovin account is! I changed it, but just in case made them private!

  3. good for you with the job hunt. I remember last week reading your blog thinking wow what a bummer for her… but man you are on fire to get it moving already and waiting on interviews… I too have made my blog private and now blog under a diff. name. for reasons of people being able to find me …

    glad to hear mini-me is doing so well!

  4. Family gatherings can be so wonderful, and such a lovely chance to turn off the outside world for a few precious hours and just be with the people who mean most. I’m glad you’ve had that.

    I hope the job interviews go well, and I have to say – your blog, your rules. If you feel better having protected posts then by all means go for it. Remember, you don’t owe ANYTHING to your readers.

    Glad you have such a wonderful friend. And that you were glad for hugs 🙂

    1. Thank you! I am hoping to get some calls Monday for some interviews and will be sending out more resumes! It I all online now, you cant even all to check on a status which is different, but that also tells you how long it has been since I have looked for a job! its all so surreal to me!

  5. I’m with Val – that one door closes and another opens is often so true. I believe wholeheartedly that everything happens for a reason. Everything. We may not always know what it is, but eventually it all falls into place.
    Hope the interviews go well and SO glad to hear that mini-me is doing well! Hang in there, mom!

  6. “…and so, Ms. Tutu, it says here that you ‘consider most employers to be rofl-ing clueless, could you contextualize that for us, factoring in the work environment you are proposing to manage?”
    (lol)
    we are all pulling for you (which is the Y-Chromian form of >hugs<), over here at the Doctrine.

  7. A few years ago we camped at the beach. Each morning my kids- 17, 16, and 12 at the time- walked the length of the beach rescuing starfish. There is something a little magical about that.

    We went through a season of unemployment and our mantra became: There needs to be only one. It didn’t matter how many applications or interviews took place, reminding ourselves that only one job offer would change the circumstances. In its odd way, remembering that helped.

    Glad your little one is feeling better and back to school tomorrow. Friends are the family we make and it sounds like you have a good one.

    I feel the same way about hugs. Glad you’ve been able to receive them.

  8. I made an emergency run on Saturday night for Benadryl, poor M was miserable and finally just asked if I minded going back out. Anything for our babies, right?

    Fingers still crossed for you on the job sitch.

Leave a Reply

