Posted in mommyhood

The Woman underneath the glasses

Compassion is the act of going out of one’s way to help someone else either emotionally, physically or spiritually. It means to put all judgment aside and just offer simple assistance to  someone.

While standing in line a Starbucks yesterday I waited patiently as a woman with her two-year old child were getting their treats. The child, cute as a button with brown shirley temple like curls and glasses on her face. I will never understand how anyone can get a two year old to keep glasses on their face! But I digress. The mom was gorgeous, well manicured and kept her sunglasses on. Making me  wonder what she was hiding to be honest.

As the little girl was standing there, mom handed her an apple juice and proceeded to order her drinks. The apple juice pills because well, she is only two after all and she’s a kid. The mom begins yelling and telling her to stop spilling it! then carries on to pay for her drinks picking up said two-year old and sets her down at the table. Meanwhile telling the barista how she her bad child doesn’t deserve a treat.

As I watched this play out and the mom clearly had no intention of cleaning up the spill I go proceed to step out of line and grab some napkins to clean up the rather large mess. You see I have been there. I get it, you are stressed and tired and honestly before I get my coffee I am not really seeing straight! Now I never have called my child a bad child or rotten, but again, I wonder what that woman was hiding under those shades.

While cleaning up the mess the lady behind me begins to help in what was a nice gesture to myself but then says, Thank you I cannot stand when people do not clean up their own messes! Instead of agreeing with her or judging that mom, I decided to give her something no one in that line was going to, which was compassion!  smiled at the woman who helped me and said, it’s okay I have a two-year old and I understand what she is dealing with.

Then it was time to order my drink and be on my merry way! When things like that happen we have two choice in life. We can get mad, irritated and become judgmental or we can offer assistance and just be helpful. I can’t tell you if that woman understood what I had done for her or even if she cared, but I know what I did and that is enough for me! When is the last time you showed someone compassion?  February 20th is fast approaching! Join over one thousand BLOGGERS AND WRITE FOR COMPASSION!

1000voicesforcompassion

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

13 thoughts on “The Woman underneath the glasses

    1. We really never know and at first glance she looks like someone who really just didn’t give a damn, but I couldn’t help but wonder why she kept her sunglasses on indoors.

  1. Good for you. At face value this woman’s behavior was reprehensible. It really is hard not to jump to conclusions and judge sometimes, but lord only knows what internal struggles or stresses she was already under at that moment.

    1. Thank you Norm and I agree! at first glance it is absolutely reprehensible but I don’t know there is always more to the story, thanks for reading 😉

  2. I really work hard at not judging. It’s actually required for my job. 🙂 but what I hate the most, is people judging me. It’s not their place. There isn’t a lot that insults me… judgment insults me.

Leave a Reply

