Posted in acceptance

Go confidently to the direction of your dreams

Go Confidently in the direction of your dreams….Henry David Thoreau

I read this very simple and lovely quote on the bumper sticker of a car yesterday while driving to a job interview. In some weird way it was exactly what I needed at exactly the right time.

Finding a job that will suit my family life as well as my need for drive, motivation and challenge is proven to become more difficult than I ever could have imagined. I want a job that I love going to work everyday and feel appreciated, values and yes needed.  It is amazingly hard to even get a job interview unless you really know someone. Despite having lots of experience on my resume, it is just plain hard.

Last week I had a great interview in which I expect an offer, but it’s not what I really want, but will take it because hey, I need a job. But Tuesday I met with a lady who has an awesome vision and it clicked! It felt right, like I belonged there. I  am supposed to get a second interview and hoping that goes well. This one will be with potential coworkers to make sure it’s a good fit for them and me. I can’t say that I will definitely get offered the job because of course no one can, but for the first time in a month I feel hopeful.

This is me going confidently to the direction of my dreams. Not too confident as we all know things can change but confident enough to seek out my true passion with my work as well as my passion at home!

wpid-chase-catch-dream-big-picture-quote.jpg

 

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

28 thoughts on “Go confidently to the direction of your dreams

    1. Thank you! honestly when all my work stuff happened I sat down and tried to see if we cold do it with m staying home, but sadly we just can’t! the awesome thing is that this potential job seem perfect o balance the work family life as I have not done that very well

      1. I really hope it works out for you. I am trying to get my freelance writing firmly off the ground as it works around the kids (apart from now as its half term!), but it is always an endless struggle to be a working parent!

  1. I went on a job interview once where they asked me, “What’s important in a relationship with your boss?” And I said to feel valued by them. They said, “So you’re saying you can’t do a good job without a part on the back?” Suddenly I did not want to work there.

  2. Good luck! I hope you find the perfect job 🙂 I am supposed to start looking for a job, but just the thought of it scares me 😦 I have been home for more than 2 years now. I feel like I don’t have any brain cells left to work with 😦

    1. I think you have a few more brain cells left than you realize! You are awesome and any employer would be blessed to have you! Good luck to you on the search 🙂

  3. Best of luck 🙂 I am just starting to look for a job again, your post was very inspiring! I keep my fingers crossed for you!

  4. Thos is what im.constantly thinking of! The day i will be ready to go to work but how will i find the job that i lpve and suits my family life?? I hope you nail the second interview 👍

    1. It has proven to be quite the challenge, but I know that the job is out there! I’m hoping tat tis one is it! Still waiting for them to give me the call but she said it would take time to coordinate schedules it’s just hard being patient! lol it is not one of my strong suits!

  5. Good luck!! I’m in exactly the same place…wanting a job I love and feel empowered with and yet wanting to be there for S, needing one that fits around him. *sigh* One day it’ll happen x

  6. April, Thoreau is my absolute all-time favorite and that quote is among one of his best. Keeping that in mind gave me the motivation (and the nerve, frankly) to quit a job situation that had become toxic. Good luck to you in your search – the right thing comes along at the right time. I know it.

    1. Thank you! My mind tells me that it will come along at the right time, but my heart I freaking out a bit. Had a little panic attack today but I will do some yoga tomorrow and feel better. it helps and I do not do it often enough!

Leave a Reply

