Posted in acceptance

Saving lives through Compassion

It’s amazing what fire one blogger can light! Yvonne Spence asked us a question and she quickly received results. The question is simple. Can we get 1000 bloggers to write of compassion on February 20th! Share the joy, the empathy and kindness that others need to see, hear and feel. Let’s make this world a better place by sharing a little compassion and see what can happen!

Well Yvonne I can say well done! You have not only been able to rally the troops so to speak but we are a force of nature ready to share our stories of love, kindness and the gift of compassion.

I have thought about writing this post in many different ways and decided to share a story from my younger self as a floor nurse. I have many stories of compassion over the years but this is by far the one that holds in my heart daily. It is the very reason why I still choose nursing as my profession of choice.

My story is simple. I have been a registered nurse for eleven years and while it is easy to become harden from the grim circumstances that nurses face each day, we choose to remember why we became nurses or why we choose to keep doing this profession to begin with.

I was at the age of 22 when I met a man who needed heart surgery.  I was his nurse and he spoke minimal English and to my surprise was refusing to have surgery. When every physician, or practictioner was ready to give up on him, I chose to sit by his bed and ask the question why. Holding his hand he explained that he couldn’t pay for the surgery and needed to work. He simply could not stop working for the time required to recover from surgery as he was the sole provider and needed to take care of his ladies. ( His wife and daughters)

As ears filled my eyes, as well as his I uncharacteristically explained that his reasons were unacceptable. I had seen the way this family had looked at this an, they loved him and not because he could feed them or provide them with money! they loved him for him and needed him healthy or his illness would over time kill him.

As he sat and listened to me talk about his family and the love they have for one another he cried. He loved his family more than anything and did not want to die. Then he did something that surprised me, he grabbed my hand and said ” Tell me what to do”. Smiling at him I said I cannot tell you what to do but I think you already know the answer to that question. Just look inside your heart  and follow what it is telling you.  The next thing I knew, I was on the phone with the physician and surgery had been scheduled for the following day.

I was blessed enough to have this patient the next morning only briefly as he was scheduled early and on his way out, he asked the transporters to stop. Reaching for my hand with tears in his eyes, he says what every nurse wants to hear but very rarely hear. “Thank you for saving my life”

Compassion comes in many different forms and many different ways. it can be in written form as a simple thank you, I’m so sorry, or I love you. it can be with a simple gesture from a nurse who just wants to help her patient live and make an informed decision. It can be in the form of giving a homeless person something to eat. One thing is for certain, Compassion and kindness can change the world. it can make the ugly seem beautiful, provide hope in the eye of despair, it can save lives. Share your compassion stories and help us change the outlook of others in a world where negativity and despair live. Unit with us as we spread the power of love, courage and conviction and maybe just maybe your spirits can be uplifted like mine has just by writing this post!

1000speak

Author:

I am a wife of ten years, mom of three, Nurse and student! My household is quite chaotic and busy. With a six year old going on sixteen. we shall call her "Sassy", a four year old, who is stubborn as a mule, she shall be called " mini me", and a one year old, we will call "Buddy". Our girls do Ballet, and our son, well he is all boy! Very curious and always getting in to something. When we found out we were having a boy i laughed and said " god must have known we needed a little less diva in our life," Ha, little boys are quite the handful! I love my kids with all of my heart, and i love my job too! As a nurse leader i get to see many sides to healthcare and help encourage and guide new nurses. I love taking care of patients and being able to have grown up talk and then come home to my babies. The house is usually chaotic with lots of tantrums, and messes, but i wouldn't change it for a bit. On the rare occasion that i am able to have some spare time to myself, i like to read, bake and decorate cakes, and take pictures of my kiddos. Time to myself is rare so i decided to start this blog to have a creative outlet and connect with other working moms, who might be going through the same situations as myself. I hope you enjoy my thoughts and stories as a mom, student, wife and Nurse! These stories will range from Diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms! and everything that falls in between. Enjoy and thanks for visiting my site.

12 thoughts on “Saving lives through Compassion

  1. Kismet is so awesome. And so, so awesome that you got to be a part of it. It’s like one of those Thai insurance commercials that always make me cry, but IRL. 😀

Leave a Reply

